ISA World Tandem Surfing Championships

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

2010 Lacanau French Cup to Host ISA World Tandem Championships (WTT6*)

ISA World Tandem Surfing Championships
Lacanau, France
July 16 – 19, 2010

The 2010 edition of the French Cup will for the first time out of Hawaii host the prestigious ISA Open’s World Tandem Surfing Championships (WTT6*) from July 16 to 19, gathering an international 16 to 24 Teams field ready to battle for the undisputed ISA Opens World Tandem Surfing title.

Staged at the world famous spot of Lacanau on the South West coast of France for the first year outside of Hawaii, the French Cup will witness the battle of the world’s best Tandem Teams in quality Tandem-adapted waves.  La Centrale will be offering long sand banks and great potential to display both classical and progressive committed Tandem surfing.

Coming to France as a favorite team, former ISA Open World Tandem Champion Chuck Inman & Tiffany Rabacal (Waikiki, HAW), have confirmed their presence and will aim at a historical second title in four events.  The talented Hawaiian athletes are coming from a win in 2008 and a year off in 2009.

“Having one title is amazing and we wouldn’t mind having another one,” Chuck said. “We are definitely going to put our best into the competition. We’ve had a great year of free surfing since the 2009 Duke’s Festival. Competitively we haven’t made any contest since 2 years. We are feeling good about our surfing and looking forward to the ISA World Title”.

Lacanau, the cradle of Tandem surfing in France when a few local surfers brought the sport from Hawaii to La Centrale back in the nineties, is ready for another 3/4-days waiting period where both competitions and a variety of activities will once again make the Lacanau French Cup an exciting, intense and attractive event.

With the ISA World title in sight, Rico Leroy & Sarah Burel (FRA) will have an advantage over the rest of the international field. Focused, used to the location and the atmosphere of the French Cup as well, Leroy & Burel knows what it takes to claim the prestigious crown.

“We certainly feel comfortable paddling out in our local spot at the Centrale in Lacanau,” Leroy said. “The waves are usually pretty fun for Tandem Surfing but anyone we draw in a heat will be a threat. The battle will be strong with the very best teams in the world coming for this huge event. We will have to watch after the Hawaiians, Chuck & Tiffany, who are the former ISA World Champ but also the Californians Team who always put one team in each year’s final. Clay & Kristen from Huntington (San Onofre, USA) look very confident for the title this year as do their friends Brian & Illa Mc Evilly (San Onofre, USA).

With local threats and former ITSA World Tandem Tour No. 5 ranked athletes Jeremy Boisson & Julie Desarnaud (Lacanau, FRA) and current ITSA WTT N°3 Clement & Dhelia Cetran (Biscarosse, FRA), the thousands of crowds expected will witness another weekend of battle with their favorites aiming at bringing the title to Europe and France, what would be a premiere for ISA European Team s Tandem.

All news, photos and videos highlights available at

Previous ISA World Tandem Surfing Champions:

2006: Brian Keaulana & Kathy Terrada (HAW)

2007: Kalani Vierra & Blanche Yoshida (HAW)

2008: Chuck Inman & Tiffany Rabacal (HAW)

2009: Kalani & Ala Vierra (HAW)

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).