ISA World Kneeboard Titles to Take Place at Phillip Island in 2011

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.


Pablo Zanocchi
Media Manager
International Surfing Association

2011 ISA World Kneeboard Titles
19 to 26 March 2011
Phillip Island, Australia

Over 200 competitors from twelve countries will gather at Phillip Island, Victoria, from 19 to 26 March for the 2011 edition of the ISA World Kneeboard Titles, the discipline’s most prestigious championship.

The weeklong event is held every two years, with previous events in New Zealand, USA, Tahiti and South Africa. The competition, fully sanctioned by the ISA, will crown the World Champions in the Open division as well as the age divisions that range from Under 16 to Over 60.

Kneeboarders from Australia, New Zealand, USA, England, Ireland, France, Tahiti, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, South Africa, Canada and Japan will compete for the world titles and the honor of their countries.

This is the first time that wave-rich Phillip Island will host a World Kneeboard Title event. It promises to be a historical week, with all of the current world champions coming together along with a group of very competitive locals.

Surfing Victoria, the state’s governing authority for the sport, will organize the competition to be webcasted and televised live. All event information is posted on

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA will hold the first Stand Up Paddle (SUP) World Championship in 2011.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 64 countries on six continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre, first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since.  The ISA’s three Vice Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karín Sierralta (Peru).

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).