Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The World’s Best Bodyboarders To Compete at the World-Class Punta 1

The International Surfing Association (ISA) and the Chilean Surfing Federation (FECHSURF) are excited to announce the 4th Annual ISA World Bodyboard Championship (ISA WBC) to take place in Chile, from December 6th to December 14th.

Foto Bodyboard1The 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship will be held in Iquique, Chile at Punta 1, a world-class reef break where the top competitors from around the globe will showcase their tube riding and high performance maneuvers. Photo: Vertical/FECHSurf

This year’s athletes will compete for the World Team Champion Trophy and Individual Medals in the northern city of Iquique at Punta 1. The heavy reef break is usually dominated by bodyboarders, so spectators can expect to see the top athletes from around the globe showcase their high performance maneuvers on this world-class wave.

“We are thrilled that Chile will host this year’s World Bodyboard Championship in Iquique, which is the first ISA World Championship ever in Chile,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Punta 1 will be the perfect venue for the best bodyboarders in the world. We are thankful for the dedication and hard work of the President of the Chilean Surfing Federation, Juan Agustin Echeverria and his Board of Directors. We must also acknowledge the generosity of the people and government authorities of Iquique, especially Mayor Jorge Soria, for welcoming the ISA and hosting this year’s championship and for developing the sport of surfing in one of the most gorgeous locations in all of Chile. We are certain it will be a fantastic competition and we look forward to a long term relationship between Chile and the ISA.”

MTR_0356_1 (small)ISA President Fernando Aguerre (middle) signing the Hosting Agreement with Juan Agustin Echeverria, the Chilean Surfing Federation President, and witnessed by Ricardo Valles, Sport Director of the Municipality of Iquique, where the ISA World Bodyboard Championsip will be held. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

Located in the northern region of Chile along the Pacific Ocean, Iquique is a port city known for its warm hospitality and world-class waves. “It’s an honor to host the ISA World Championship in our city,” said Ricardo Valles, Sport Director of the Municipality of Iquique. “We know that surfing and bodyboarding reach large audiences around the world and we are excited to showcase our town’s hospitality, warmth and waves through the ISA World Bodyboard Championship, which will be seen by hundreds of thousands on the computer and television screens globally. Iquique is the ‘Land of Champions,’ where sport has a special and important place, and our Mayor, Jorge Soria, is one of the biggest promoters of this fact.”

foto Punta 1 D knee1

“All the bodyboarders from around the globe can expect a world-class right, with four to six foot tube rides,” said Juan Agustin Echeverria, President of the Chilean Surfing Federation, ensuring that spectators are guaranteed to see a show. “Punta 1 is a technical and high performance wave for a world championship. I am excited to watch the competition unfold, and thankful to the ISA for supporting Chilean surfing and tourism on our amazing coast.”

Each team at this year’s championship will consists of a maximum of seven athletes competing in the following categories: Open Men (3), Open Women (1), Junior Under-18 Boys (1), Junior Under-18 Girls (1), and Open Dropknee (1).

Brazil is the defending 2013 World Team Champion, with Venezuela having taken the Silver Medal, Chile the Bronze Medal, and Costa Rica the Copper Medal.

Bodyboarding was first included in the ISA World Surfing Games in 1988, with Chris Cunningham from the USA taking home the Gold Medal. In 2011, the first stand-alone ISA WBC was held in Galdar, Canary Islands, Spain. The 2012 and 2013 editions of the ISA WBC took place at Playa Parguito in Margarita Island, Venezuela.

The ISA World Bodyboard Championship will start with the traditional Opening Ceremony, including the Parade of the Nations and the Sands of the World Ceremony on December 6th. The competition will begin on the 7th, with the finals and Closing Ceremony on the 14th, when the Team and Individual World Champions will be crowned.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).