Posted - News Posted for Denmark News, ISA News.

La Jolla, California, February 20, 2013- The International Surfing Association (ISA) is proud to welcome Denmark to its list of member nations.

Denmark marks the 73rd and newest member nation of the ISA. The application was submitted by the North Atlantic Surfing Association (NASA), which was approved by the Executive Committee of the ISA.

“I am excited about the news, and happy to welcome Denmark to the international surfing family,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Denmark’s membership comes at a great time as they will be bringing for the first time ever a National Team to the 2013 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship in Peru that starts on February 24th. Surrounded by bodies of water in Northern Europe, SUP and Paddleboard have been increasing in popularity as a sport in the country. With the development of SUP, it’s a great step forward in growing the sport in the region and the rest of Europe. I look forward to meeting them in Peru.”

“We in Denmark are extremely excited about becoming the newest member of the ISA,” said Casper Steinfath, the Managing Secretary of the North Atlantic Surfing Association (NASA). “The surfing roots in Denmark go far back and it is amazing to now finally be able to give present and future Danish surfer’s, stand up paddlers and paddleboarders the opportunity to compete and represent Denmark at ISA events. We look forward to working closely with the ISA in furthering the surfing related sports in positive ways both nationally and internationally. We also look forward to seeing Team Denmark compete at the ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship next week”

When Aguerre became presidentof the ISA in 1994, the organization had just 31 member nations. He radically altered the face and action of the ISA, aiming to grow its impact and recognition throughout the world. The addition of Denmark brings the total number of member nations to 73 and a total of 20 National Governing Bodies (NGB’s) within Europe. Neighboring Denmark are two other ISA NGB’s, Germany to the South and Sweden to the East.

Denmark’s geographic location has many key attributes to the development of surfing in the country. Surrounded by bodies of water on all sides, no location in Denmark is further then 32 miles (52km) from the coast. The access to the coast can be one of the main detriments for surfing development in many countries around the world, however, in Denmark, one can access a body of water in less than an hour drive from any point in the country.

Clearly, there are great advantages to developing surfing the Denmark, especially StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard due to the lack of everyday, consistent waves, surf, but rather with vast access to open water with ideal conditions to practice SUP and Paddlboard.

For the first time in ISA history, Denmark will have a National Team at the 2013 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship in Peru. Representing Team Denmark will be Casper Steinfath, who will compete in the Men’s SUP Surfing and Racing, Karsten Krongaard, who will compete in the Men’s SUP Surfing, and Annette Carsing, who will compete in the Women’s SUP Surfing.

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 73 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

Media Contacts
Carlos Escaba
Marketing and Media Manager
International Surfing Association

Jose Duarte Solis
Latin America Media Coordinator
International Surfing Association

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).