ISA Welcomes IOC Approval of Tahiti as the Surfing Location for Paris 2024 Olympic Games

Posted - News Posted for France News, IOC News, ISA News, World Surfing News.

The International Surfing Association (ISA) today welcomes and fully supports the IOC Executive Board’s approval of the French Polynesia island of Tahiti as the location for Paris 2024’s Olympic Surfing competition.

The world renowned Teahupo’o, Tahiti. Photo: WSL / Kirstin

The world renowned Teahupo’o, Tahiti. Photo: WSL / Kirstin

The world-renowned reef break, Teahupo’o, is recognised for its world-class waves and guarantees both spectators and athletes an exceptional competition.

During the competition the athletes’ village will be made up of temporary modular houses which will be dismantled after the competition, among other initiatives, to ensure the Games are sustainable and the impact on the environment is minimised. 

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“We worked closely with the Paris 2024 leadership team on selecting a host location for the surfing competitions. Tahiti was truly exceptional in offering the athletes, and our sport, spectacular conditions for optimal competition.”

“For surfing, Teahupo’o is a sacred place, rich in history and tradition and offering a truly authentic surfing experience, whilst paying homage to the culture and heritage of the sport.”

“Tahiti as the Olympic venue is testimony to Paris 2024’s spirit of creativity and innovation. Surfing is a sport for the new era of the Games and this approach by Paris 2024 demonstrates how our values are aligned.”

“We are fully committed to ensuring sustainability and ocean conservation around the venue and preserving the beautiful surroundings of the island, whilst respecting the needs of the local population. The Games will leave a legacy of sustainability that adapts to the site – not the contrary – factoring in economic, social, and environmental perspectives.”   

“Together with our friends and partners at the Paris 2024 Organising Committee and the French Surfing Federation, we look forward to now ensuring we take advantage of this amazing opportunity to showcase the best our sport has to offer and build on the success and legacy of our Olympic debut at Tokyo 2020.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).