Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

World’s Best Men And Women Surfers To Gather At The World-Class Break Of Popoyo To Compete For The Gold Medals And World Team Champion Trophy

Popoyo editedThe powerful and world-class wave at Popoyo, Nicaragua, will host the best Surfers from around the globe for the 2015 ISA World Surfing Games. Photo:

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is excited to announce its return for the fourth year in a row to the beautiful country of Nicaragua for the 2015 ISA World Surfing Games taking place from May 31 to June 7.

Over 25 Nations are expected at the competition, which will gather the best surfers from around the globe at the powerful, world-class, and warm waters waves of Popoyo, Nicaragua. Located in Nicaragua’s stunning Pacific Coast in the Municipality of Tola, the break is a two hour drive from the capital city of Managua.

The athletes will compete for the Individual Gold Medals in Open Men’s and Open Women’s that will decide the winner of the coveted Fernando Aguerre World Team Trophy, and the International Olympic Committee (IOC) President’s Trophy.

opening_ceremony_foto_michael_tweddle (small)Symbolizing the peaceful gathering of nations through the love of surfing, Nicaragua will gather over 25 countries at the ISA’s traditional Opening Ceremony. Pictured is ISA President Fernando Aguerre (center), joined by the first ISA President, Peruvian Eduardo Arena, who founded the ISA in 1964, amongst the flags of the National Teams that participated in 2014 at the ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games in Peru. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

With the full support of Nicaragua’s President, Daniel Ortega, and the Ministry of Tourism headed by Mayra Salinas, Nicargua last hosted the ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship in Granada and La Boquita in 2014, ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Playa Jiquiliste in 2013, and ISA World Masters Surfing Championship in Playa Colorado in 2012.

Surfing has been integral and successful development tool in the country. According to the Central Bank of Nicaragua, Surfing now registers as the #1 source of travel and tourism for the country.

In 2014, the historic ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games was held in Punta Rocas, Peru. New surfing nations like the United Arab Emirates, Russia, Scotland and Turkey joined the celebrations, but in the end it was the local Peruvian team that took home The Fernando Aguerre World Team Trophy. In the individual division’s, Argentina’s Leandro “Lele” Usuna won Open Men’s and Peru’s Anali Gomez won Open Women’s.

Nicaragua (small)Nicaragua, the land of offshore winds. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The top seven placing National Teams will qualify for an invitation to the 2016 ISA China Cup, part of the ISA’s Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival, along with the local host team from China.

Fernando Aguerre, ISA President, speaking about the announcement of the 2015 ISA World Surfing Games, said:

“I am delighted to return to the beautiful and welcoming country of Nicaragua, a place that has blessed us with incredible surf and permanent offshore winds. Nicaragua’s commitment to the sport of Surfing has shown its true value, as now Surfing ranks as the number one attraction for tourists. As we enter our next 50 years of history, I am very excited to join the world’s best surfers in experiencing this incredible country, and in witnessing them compete at one of its best waves at Popoyo.”

9_Landscapes_©TweddleLocated in Nicaragua’s stunning Pacific Coast in the Municipality of Tola, the break is a two hour drive from the capital city of Managua. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).