ISA President Fernando Aguerre receives the SIMA Humanitarian Award

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Fernando along with his brother Santiago, co-owners of California based Liquid Tribe win the Stokes Me Challenge, which awards them the honor.

ISA President Fernando Aguerre, wearing a t-shirt with the image of his recently born daughter Gina Eve, was presented the SIMA (Surf Industry Manufacturers Association) Humanitarian Award for Liquid Tribe’s leading fundraising team for the Stokes Me Campaign. Photo: SIMA

Fernando and Santiago Aguerre of Liquid Tribe have been crowned victorious as the top fundraising team for the Stokes Me Challenge by raising $7,500. This fundraising effort has awarded them both the SIMA Humanitarian Award.

Liquid Tribe was presented the honor at the SIMA Image Awards on February 7, 2013, at The Grove in Anaheim, California for their efforts.

“It doesn’t matter how much you donate,” said the ISA President Fernando. “If you touch someone else in their heart that day, you are a humanitarian. People say you can only be part of changing the world if you only make money. If that’s all you do, you are poor. Because when you die, you can’t spend it.”

Put on by the SIMA Humanitarian Fund, Stokes Me is a 30-day digital fundraising contest that took place October 1 – October 30, 2012 and raised $78,000. Since 2004, the SIMA Humanitarian Fund, which the ISA President co-founded and chaired for many years, has donated more than $1.58 million to surf-related, non-profit humanitarian organizations.

All proceeds from this year’s efforts will benefit 10 surf-related humanitarian non-profit organizations selected by the SIMA Humanitarian Fund Board of Directors for focusing on improving the quality of life, health and/or welfare of people.

The 2012 Stokes Me beneficiaries include Best Day Foundation, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Jimmy Miller Foundation, Keep A Breast, Life Rolls On, Outdoor Outreach, Stoked Mentoring, SurfAid International, Surfers Healing and Waves for Water.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).