ISA President Fernando Aguerre Inducted into Surfing Walk of Fame Alongside Sport’s Most Famous Faces

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

International Surfing Association (ISA) President Fernando Aguerre has today been inducted into the Surfing Walk of Fame, alongside some of the sport’s most famous faces, at the annual ceremony held in Huntington Beach, California.

The 2018 Surfing Walk of Fame marks the 25th year since the first inductees were added, and will see this year’s recipients immortalized in the pavement opposite the pier of Huntington Beach, often known as Surf City USA.

ISA President Fernando Aguerre is honored as he is inducted to the Surfing Walk of Fame. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

ISA President Fernando Aguerre is honored as he is inducted into the Surfing Walk of Fame. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

President Aguerre was honoured for his contribution to the Sport of Surfing after the International Olympic Committee (IOC) voted at 2016’s 129th IOC Session in Rio de Janeiro to add Surfing to the Programme for the Tokyo 2020 Games.

Following the IOC approval of Olympic Surfing, the sport has enjoyed unprecedented growth, recently staging its most successful ISA World Surfing Games where 245 athletes from a record-breaking 47 nations took part in eight days of elite competition in Biarritz, France.

President Aguerre joins elite athletes Mick Fanning and Stephanie Gilmore, local legend Randy Lewis, Vans’ vice president Steve Van Doren, Quicksilver’s CEO Bob McKnight and surf pioneer Ben Aipa in the class of 2018.

In receiving the award, President Aguerre said:

“It is an honour for me to join such esteemed colleagues and friends today to be inducted into the Surfing Walk of Fame. This is a prestigious award and one that I will cherish. Surfing is my life and I have worked hard to ensure that, through the ISA, I can spread the sport around the world.

“I’d like to share this award with everyone who helped me and the ISA in making our Olympic dream a reality in 2016. The Surfing community came together to support a historic common cause, and for that I will be eternally grateful. The Surf and Beach Festival to be held at Tokyo 2020 will allow us to share our values, lifestyle and culture with billions around the world.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).