Surfing started at the South American Beach Games

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The Olympic flag waved in Montoya Beach for the first day of the South American Beach Games Surfing event

1st South American Beach Games
Punta del Este Uruguay
December 9, 2009

The perfect 4 to 6 feet waves of Montoya beach along with the best surfers of the region made an amazing first day of the historic Surfing event of the 1st South American Beach Games. The 36 surfers from Argentina, Brazil, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela surfed 20 high performance heats giving the best of their abilities looking forward to the medals.

The day started with great barreling rights and lefts, allowing the surfers to reach excellent scores. ISA Junior World Champion, Jadson André (BRA) set the standard, posting the highest combined score of the day, 16.17, and the highest single wave score, 9.00. His fellow countryman, Alejo Muniz, also an ISA World Junior Champion was another standout, showing great display of power surfing, scored a high 15.50 in his Main Event Round 2 match-up.

Muniz, who came yesterday from Hawaii, after being named the Rookie of the Triple Crown of Surfing said after the heat: “I’m happy about my performance today, I was able to show how I surf, specially on the second heat. It is great to be in the semifinals now. I was feeling a little tired, but my board is working, the waves are perfect and I was able to do my job.”

Regarding the fact of being part of this history-making event, the Brazilian said: “For me representing my country is one of the most important things I can do. The commitment is so strong that if I had to leave the WQS event I was surfing and I wasn’t able to make it here I wouldn’t have surfed the quarterfinals and fly out of there to come. Being here for Brazil is amazing for me.”

The other four Open Men surfers that made it through to the Main Event semifinals were: Luis Iturria (URU), Maximiliano Siri (ARG), Rafael Pereira (VEN) and Javier Swayne (PER).

Swayne took advantage of his great backhand approach and won the two heats he entered. “I felt comfortable with the waves in my heats, in the morning it was easier to find the open faces,” said the Peruvian. “It is really special for me to represent my country each time I get the chance to do it. In ISA, PASA and in this event the vibe is different, is beautiful to have your team support, not like when you surf in a WQS or other professional event.”

On the ladies side, Peru stole the show with their two representatives, Analí Gómez and Valeria Solé, making it to the Main Event Final. Brazilian Camila Cassia and Ecuadorian Dominic Barona will join them. Gómez was the surfer of the day in the division, posting the two highest combined scores in each round, 10.44 and 10.67.

The event continues tomorrow at 8:00, the forecast shows another morning of barrels and perfect waves with the onshore wind coming by midday. All the surfers will go to the water, including the first round of the Aloha Cup.

Check the results, photos and videos at

The official website of the South American Beach Games is The dedicated Surfing contest website is There you will find the results, photos, videos and all the news of surfing in the Beach Games.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).