ISA Medical Commission Holds Successful First Meeting

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

The Medical Commission of the International Surfing Association (ISA) had their first virtual meeting on January 27 to advance several key discussions surrounding health and safety within surfing.

ISA Medical Commission and staff during the virtual meeting.

ISA Medical Commission and staff during the virtual meeting.

The commission, which was announced last week, is chaired by Dr. Lee Rice (USA) and comprised of Chuck Davey (USA), Dr. Thierry Durantel (FRA), Gonzalo Saldanha (POR), and Linda Hart (AUS).

The members commended the actions and measurements that the ISA has set forth to promote the health of athletes and personnel, physical activity, and the protection of clean athletes.

The topics discussed during the meeting included:

  • Medical requirements, water quality standards, risk assessment, accident response and disaster relief at ISA World Championships
  • Antidoping protocol and procedures
  • Covid-19 countermeasures and medical services
  • Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games 

The ISA Medical Commission will now review a number of operational plans related to the above points and will reconvene in early March. 

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“We are really pleased to have this group of experts with diverse backgrounds and experiences advising the ISA on medical issue. Their valuable input and guidance is all the more essential now, as we prioritize athlete health and safety on our road to the World Surfing Games in El Salvador and the Olympic Games in Tokyo. 

“Together, we are highly committed to creating proper health protocols, implement best practices and improve the overall medical framework to ensure the safest environments within ISA Events and initiatives, as well as the Olympic Surfing competitions.

“I am greatly looking forward to working with this dedicated team to continue to improve and develop the health and safety standards within our sport.”

ISA Medical Commission Chair Dr. Lee Rice said: 

“I am impressed with the qualified, talented individuals that have been assembled for this commission and proud to lead as the Chair. 

“Today’s meeting was productive and beneficial for all members to get on the same page and to exchange their ideas and thoughts within their particular areas of expertise.

“I am confident that together we can truly impact the sport of Surfing and make a difference within the ISA network, the sport as a whole, and the Olympic Games.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).