ISA Gold Medalists Jordy Smith and Stephanie Gilmore win at Trestles

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Congratulations to South Africa’s Jordy Smith, 2003 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship and 2006 ISA World Surfing Games Gold Medalist, and Australia’s Stephanie Gilmore, 2004 and 2005 ISA World Junior Champion, who won the Hurley Pro and the Swatch Women’s Pro respectively, on Thursday, September 18.

WinnersJordy Smith (ZAF) and Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) reign supreme at Lower Trestles. Photo: ASP / Kirstin Scholtz

On the Men’s side, after the elimination of currently ranked #1 Gabriel Medina (BRA) and #2 Kelly Slater (USA), Jordy earned the victory defeating Hawaii’s John John Florence in the Final.

Bx2YMFjCQAIzaE5Jordy Smith (RSA) during his participation at the 2003 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, in Durban, South Africa.

On the Women’s side, Gilmore defeated Surfing Australia team mate, who is also a 2X ISA World Champion (2007 ISA World Junior and 2008 ISA World Surfing Games Gold Medalist), Sally Fitzgibbons.

temp-download-4176_1411131659_gilmore1995trestles14kirstinStephanie Gilmore (AUS). Photo: ASP

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).