ISA Fully Supports Paris 2024 Recommendation for Olympic Surfing in World-renowned Teahupo’o

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The International Surfing Association (ISA) today welcomes and fully supports the recommendation by Paris 2024 for the Olympic Surfing competition to be staged in the French Polynesia island of Tahiti at the world-renowned reef break, Teahupo’o. 

Tahiti’s world-renowned left-hander, Teahupo’o. Photo:

Tahiti’s world-renowned left-hander, Teahupo’o. Photo:

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said: 

“We have been very pleased to work closely with the Paris 2024 leadership team on this process for selecting a host location for the surfing competitions for the Paris 2024 Games. We salute the five candidatures, which were all excellent and well-known surf destinations, but Tahiti was truly exceptional in offering our athletes, and our sport, spectacular conditions for optimal competitions.

“For us, Tahiti represents the authenticity of our sport and the ISA’s mission to celebrate surfing’s unique culture and lifestyle, while also recalling the long history and heritage of our sport from its Polynesian origins. 

“Ultimately, our commitment is to the athletes and the sport and we have no doubt that Teahupo’o will offer an amazing platform for the world’s best athletes to shine.  For this, we were not surprised by the full support of our Athletes’ Commission for this choice. 

“Selecting Tahiti as the Olympic venue is also a testimony to the Paris 2024 spirit of creativity and innovation, while preserving the genuine values of surfing. We applaud our friends in the Paris 2024 team for their courage and originality in making this landmark proposal.

“Surfing is a sport for the new era of the Games and this approach by Paris 2024 demonstrates how our values are aligned. Our sport’s connection to the environment also makes Tahiti a fitting choice – with a bespoke concept that will deliver a sustainable and low carbon impact event. 

“I’m totally convinced we can stage a fantastic Olympic Surfing event in Tahiti that builds on the success and legacy of our debut at Tokyo 2020, inspires the world and continues to celebrate our sport’s unique values and culture on a global stage.” 

ISA Athletes’ Commission Chair, Justine Dupont (FRA), said:

“All of the top athletes I’ve consulted are super excited about the proposal of Tahiti to host Surfing at the Paris 2024 Olympics.

“The famed waves at Teahupo’o are revered among surfers all over the globe, and will draw an unprecedented level of attention and excitement to the Games. 

“The athletes are stoked that our opinion held such weight in the proposal. Our voices are being heard and shaping the future trajectory of our sport through Tokyo 2020, Paris 2024, and beyond.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).