ISA continues Para Surfing development via first-ever virtual seminar in Spanish

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

As the global pandemic alters the way that the world goes about their lives, ISA Course Presenter Gustavo Corrales (CRC) and the Latin American Para Surfing community haven’t let that challenge impede their path in growing and developing the sport of Para Surfing. 

Corrales along with coach Cristian Encalada (CHI) held the first-ever online seminar for Para Surfing instructors and athletes on June 27, bringing together more than 300 people from 14 countries in Latin America in an online environment.

Chile's Elias Valencia competes in the 2020 AmpSurf ISA World Para Surfing Championship. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

Chile’s Elias Valencia competes in the 2020 AmpSurf ISA World Para Surfing Championship. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

Conducted in Spanish, the seminar covered an array of relevant topics such as the process, timeframe, and requirements for inclusion in the Paralympics, Para Surfing judging criteria, and training techniques for competition. 

The seminar facilitated the exchange of information between countries that are looking to start Para Surfing programs and countries that already have established developed programs. 

The success of the meeting has led to the planning of future online workshops to educate, inform, empower and continue to grow the sport together towards the professionalization of all those involved in Para Surfing who can play a role in the sport’s push towards Paralympic inclusion.

The next meeting, more specifically, will be about the ranking and classification of Para Surfing, with the goal to unify and balance the knowledge and perspective of the discipline in Latin America.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).