Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

IOC-President-Thomas-Bach-and-ISA-President-Fernando-AguerreFernando Aguerre, President of the International Surfing Association, meets with Thomas Bach, President of the International Olympic Committee, at the 2015 SportAccord Convention in Sochi, Russia. Aguerre attended the convention to represent the ISA in their push for Olympic inclusion.

Fernando Aguerre, International Surfing Association (ISA) President, said:

“I’m delighted to confirm that the ISA has submitted its application to the Tokyo 2020 Organizing Committee for the inclusion of Surfing at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. Our relationship with the Olympic Movement and inclusion in the Games has been a strategic priority for the ISA for many years and we are excited and energized by the spirit of change that has given us this opportunity.

“I firmly believe that Surfing’s incredible youth appeal, its unique core values and the sports willingness to innovate and embrace new technology would add huge value to Tokyo 2020 and to the Olympic Movement.

I’d like to offer my sincere thanks to the IOC and to Tokyo 2020 for providing this opportunity. The ISA and the Surfing community will continue to do all that we can to help make our Olympic dream become a reality.”

JPN_Riki_Horikoshi_ISA_Reed_89Japanese surfer, Riki Horikoshi, has represented his country in both the ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship and the ISA World Surfing Games in 2015. Photo: ISA/Ben Reed

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).