ISA China Cup and Hainan Classic on Time Warner Cable

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The waves at Riyue Bay were pumping during the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Association Festival. Photo: ISA/Muñoz

All the action of the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival Presented by Quiksilver which took place from January 7 to 14, 2012 will be broadcasted on Time Warner Cable Hawaii and Time Warner Cable Los Angeles, San Diego and Desert Cities.

The festival, which included the ISA China Cup and Hainan Classic, was the largest surfing competition to ever take place on the shores of China. The ISA China Cup feature the world’s top eight surfing nations battling for the Gold Medal in a team competition. The Hainan Classic was a 4-Star ASP event with a ,000 purse, which featured some of the top pro surfers in the world, including Cristobal de Col, Nathaniel Curran, Gabe Kling and Marc Lacomare.

Australia won the ISA China Cup, led by Heath Joske’s (AUS) Gold Medal-winning performance in the Open Men’s division, while the Women’s division was won by Peruvian Sofía Mulanovich.

The Hainan Classic was run in spectacular 4- to 6-foot waves at the left-breaking wave at Riyue Bay, and was won by Ireland’s Glenn Hall.

The event will mark a before and after in the surfing history of China and the world, as the surf community was introduced to perfect waves, friendly people and a the potential of a blossoming new surf culture.

The schedule for replay of the Festival:
Time Warner Cable Hawaii – Hainan Classic: from 5/21 to 5/26
Time Warner Cable Hawaii – ISA China Cup: from 5/27 to 6/1
Time Warner Cable Los Angeles, San Diego, and Desert Cities: ISA China Cup: 6/10
Time Warner Cable Los Angeles, San Diego, and Desert Cities: Hainan Classic: 6/17

cheduled for 6/3 and 6/10

Check for updates as they become available.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).