ISA Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont Wins Big at WSL Big Wave Awards

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

The International Surfing Association (ISA) would like to congratulate ISA Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA) for her recognition at the 2019 World Surf League (WSL) Big Wave Awards that took place on May 2.

Justine Dupont (FRA) catching a monster wave at her local break of Nazaré, Portugal. Photo: Estrelinha / WSL

Justine Dupont (FRA) catching a monster wave at her local break of Nazaré, Portugal. Photo: Estrelinha / WSL

Dupont won the Women’s Performance Award as well as the coveted Women’s XXL Biggest Wave Award, earned for a monster wave ridden in Nazaré, Portugal.

Recognized as one of the world’s top big wave surfers, Dupont also excels in multiple disciplines of the sport. She has represented her nation at the ISA World Longboard Surfing Championship, ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship, and ISA World Surfing Games, having earned individual medals in all three events.

Dupont has served as Chair of the ISA Athletes’ Commission, part of the ISA Executive Committee, since early 2018 and is tasked with ensuring athletes’ voices and opinions are heard and acted upon at the highest level of governance of Surfing and all related disciplines.

ISA Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont said:

“So many big waves were ridden this winter. I really didn’t expect this!

“Big wave surfing is not an individual sport. It’s all teamwork. I want to thank those that are helping me push my limits to surf big waves.”

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“Justine is a natural leader and role model in the sport of Surfing. She continues to impress with incredible performances across an array of Surfing disciplines.

“We are happy to have Justine leading our Athletes’ Commission to allow the surfers to have a say in the direction of Surfing ahead of its debut in Tokyo 2020 and beyond.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).