ISA Announces Postponement of World Surfing Games to May 2021

Posted - News Posted for El Salvador News, ISA News, World Surfing News.

2021 World Surfing Games remains an Olympic qualifier with 12 remaining available slots for Tokyo 2020

The International Surfing Association (ISA) has today announced its decision to postpone the World Surfing Games until 2021. 

The decision was made in collaboration with the government in El Salvador, prioritizing the health and safety of the athletes, officials, fans, and citizens of El Salvador. 

El Sunzal will host one of the two podiums for the World Surfing Games. Photo: ISA / Ben Reed

El Sunzal will host one of the two podiums for the World Surfing Games. Photo: ISA / Ben Reed

The World Surfing Games, which was originally scheduled to be held in May of 2020, has now been rescheduled for May 8-16, 2021. The ISA and local organizers will continue to monitor the global pandemic and provide periodic updates on the status of the event. 

The 2021 edition of the World Surfing Games will take the place of the 2020 edition within the qualification framework for the Tokyo 2020 Games. The event will award 12 slots – 5 for men and 7 for women – to the highest placing eligible athletes.

The provisionally qualified surfers for Tokyo 2020 can be seen here.

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“Given the global trend of the virus, we’ve decided it is the best interests of the health and safety of all involved to reschedule the World Surfing Games to 2021. Our decisions have been and will continue to be guided by public health experts and authorities. 

“We are in constant dialogue with our partners and stakeholders – including the World Surf League. We are confident that this postponement will put us in the best position to celebrate a safe and spectacular edition of the event in the lead up to the Olympic Games.

“We will continue to monitor and assess the global situation in the interests of the athletes and teams. 

“Through solidarity we will come out of this situation stronger as a sport, while gaining additional momentum towards Surfing’s Olympic debut.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).