ISA Announces New World Team Trophy to be Presented at ASR

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The big waves of Santa Catalina welcome the best Masters surfers of the world. Photo: Demarsan

The big waves of Santa Catalina welcome the best Masters surfers of the world. Photo: Demarsan

LA JOLLA, CA – 12 August 2010 — The International Surfing Association (ISA), the World Governing Authority of Surfing, announced today that it will debut a new trophy for the World Surfing Games. The trophy will be on display during the ASR Trade Show at the San Diego Convention Center from the 13th to the 15th of August.

Regarding the new trophy, ISA Director General Bob Mignogna said, “From 1964-1972 the ISA (then called ISF) awarded The Eduardo Arena Trophy to the Gold Medal National Team in honor of the ISF founder and president from Peru. Since 1978, the ISA has presented The Basil Lomberg World Team Trophy to the Gold Medal National Team, named after the ISA president who hailed from South Africa. After 32 years, The Basil Lomberg Trophy will be retired.”

Today, the ISA is proud to announce the introduction of The Fernando Aguerre ISA World Team Trophy, which will be awarded to the World Champion and Gold Medal winning National Team at the 2010 Billabong ISA World Surfing Games to be held in Punta Hermosa, Peru this coming October. “The ISA is proud of all that has been accomplished during President Aguerre’s 16 year tenure, and it is only fitting to name this prestigious annual award in his honor,” added Mignogna.

The trophy was designed by renowned surf artist, Phil Roberts, and is made of marble, steel and bronze. It represents the ISA and President Aguerre’s ideals about the peaceful worldwide union of nations through surfing. The trophy was generously donated by Aguerre.

ASR attendees are welcome to visit the ISA exhibit in the Foundation Lounge on the main floor of ASR Access at the San Diego Convention Center during the ASR Trade Show.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).