ISA Announces Individual Scholarship Program for 2011

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.


Pablo Zanocchi
Media Manager
International Surfing Association

November 16, 2010
San Diego, California

The International Surfing Association (ISA), the World Governing Authority for Surfing, is now accepting applications for the 2011 ISA Individual Scholarship Program. The ISA aims to award 25 scholarships to junior surfers around the world.

The Scholarship Program is open to all junior surfers, age 18 and under. Applicants must prove financial need, be enrolled in school with good standing, and be an inspirational role model to the surfing community.

The ISA Individual Scholarship Program’s main objective is to provide financial support to junior surfers who demonstrate an actual need, in order to facilitate an experience in surfing while encouraging the importance of education. The money must be used to travel to surf contests, buy new surfing equipment, or to foster the junior surfer’s education. The program offers added incentive for national surfing federations to send teams to ISA events, furthering the reach of surfing, as scholarship recipients use the experience to become better surfers, potential national champions and even possibly, world champions – all while continuing with their education.

Two thousand and eleven will be the fifth year of the ISA Individual Scholarship Program. In 2010, 25 surfers from Africa, Australasia, the Americas and Europe received financial aid to keep developing their surfing and educational skills. All 25 scholarship recipients are great students, surfers and inspirational role models for their countries and the entire surfing tribe.

The ISA is the first and only surfing association to provide global support specifically dedicated to developing surf skills and education. Many sports have different organizations that offer financial assistance to athletes, but the ISA has decided to take the first step in surfing by looking to the industry and media to support the project that will certainly make surfing stronger in the years to come. There are thousands of potential ISA Scholarship recipients in the world and, in following one of its most important missions, the ISA has decided to help junior surfers for a better surfing future.

The program started with five recipients in 2007, quadrupling in 2008 to 20 awarded, and then doubled in 2009, delivering 40 scholarships. In 2010 the ISA gave 25 scholarships and for 2011 the ISA will continue the same level of support by providing 25 scholarships of 1.000 US dollars to each of the winners.

Fernando Aguerre, President of the ISA, said about the Scholarship Program announcement,  “I’m very happy to be presenting, for the fifth consecutive year, the ISA Individual Scholarship Program. This program proved to be a success since its creation and we are hoping to increase the number of recipients and funding in the years to come. This program is only possible thanks to the generous donations from Billabong, the Quiksilver Foundation and Reef Redemption, each of whom contributes to the program. It’s great to know that three of the biggest surfing brands in the world have given such strong support to the program, working together with the ISA for a better surfing future.”

For more Scholarship information please click here

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA will hold the first Stand Up Paddle (SUP) World Championship in 2011.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 64 countries on six continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre, first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janiero and re-elected seven times since.  The ISA’s three Vice Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karín Sierralta (Peru).

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).