Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The World’s Best Bodyboarders Will Gather In Chile From December 6 To 14 To Compete For The Gold Medals At The World-Class Punta 1 

With 10 only until the start of the 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship, Iquique, “The Land of Champions,” is ready to host the world’s best bodyboarders. This competition will be a historical moment for Chile as it will mark the country’s first time hosting an ISA World Championship.

From December 6th to the 14th, Chile will become the bodyboard capital of the world.

The athletes will compete for the World Team Champion Trophy and Individual Medals at Punta 1. The heavy reef break is usually dominated by bodyboarders, so spectators can expect to see the top athletes from around the globe showcase their high performance maneuvers on this world-class wave.

1238850_233311486825343_240367946_nThe 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship will be held in Iquique, Chile from December 6 to 14 at Punta 1, a world-class reef break where the top competitors from around the globe will showcase their tube riding and high performance maneuvers. Photo: FECHSURF

“I am very excited for the start of the ISA World Bodyboard Championship in Chile,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Iquique will be an incredible destination for this competition. Between its welcoming and warm people, and amazing waves that are perfectly suited for Bodyboarding, the athletes that will soon be arriving to represent their countries are going to love it!”.


The Official Poster of the 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship in Iquique, Chile.

Each team at this year’s championship will consists of a maximum of seven athletes competing in the following categories: Open Men (3), Open Women (1), Junior Under-18 Boys (1), Junior Under-18 Girls (1), and Open Dropknee (1).

During the 2013 edition of the ISA WBC, Brazil was World Team Champion, followed by Venezuela, winners of the Silver Medal, Chile, winners of the Bronze Medal, and Costa Rica, winners of the Copper Medal.

Bodyboarding was first included in the ISA World Surfing Games in 1988, with Chris Cunningham from the USA taking home the Gold Medal. In 2011, the first stand-alone ISA WBC was held in Galdar, Canary Islands, Spain. The 2012 and 2013 editions of the ISA WBC took place at Playa Parguito in Margarita Island, Venezuela.


The wave at Punta 1 allows for a variety of maneuvers, from heavy barrels to big air sections. Photo: FECHSURF

The ISA World Bodyboard Championship will start with the traditional Opening Ceremony, including the Parade of the Nations and the Sands of the World Ceremony on Saturday December 6th. The competition will begin on the 7th, with the finals and Closing Ceremony on the 14th, when the Team and Individual World Champions will be crowned.

Stay tuned for all of the action and the live webcast starting December 6 on the official event website

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).