International Surfing Family Looks Forward to 1st Bolivarian Beach Games

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The powerful waves of Punta Rocas, where the ISA World Masters was held in 2008, will be the perfect setting for all the surfing events in the 2012 Bolivarian Beach Games. Photo: ISA/White

Shortboarding, StandUp Paddling, Longboarding and Bodyboarding are included in the maiden edition of the multi-sports Olympic organization event

2012 Bolivarian Beach Games
November 3 to 6, 2012
Punta Rocas, Lima, Perú

As one of the original and quintessential beach sports, surfing will have a substantial place in the program of the inaugural Bolivarian Beach Games, an innovative multi-sport event organized by the Bolivarian Sports Organization (ODEBO).

As ODEBO is recognized and affiliated to the Pan American Sports Organization (PASO), all the surfers will be travelling as part of their National Teams, supported by their National Olympic Committees, much in the same way athletes are chosen for and participate in the Olympic Games.

Set to take place from November 1 to 11 on the beaches of Lima, the Bolivarian Beach Games will see athletes from over a dozen beach sports competing for the medals and the honor of representing their nations. The surfing competitions will be held from November 3 to 6 on the beautiful, world-class waves of Punta Rocas.

“Surfing’s inclusion in another important multi-sport event recognized by the Olympic Movement is a critical validation for our sport and our long-term ambitions”, said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “With such an exciting variety of our ISA disciplines on display such as SUP Surfing and Racing, as well as the more traditional shortboarders, longboarders and bodyboarders, we can look forward to truly amazing, even historic event in a region where our sport is growing fast.”

“We are especially excited about the opportunity to showcase SUP.” continued Aguerre. “With delegations from ten National Olympic Committees participating in the Games, this is an exciting opportunity not only for our SUP athletes to perform at a high level, but also affirm the success of this fast-growing discipline. As an avid SUPer myself, I can’t wait to see the results.”. .

The International Surfing Association and its Member Federation in Peru, FENTA, have determined the following disciplines will be part of the surfing program:
Open Men Shortboard – 4 competitors per team
Open Women Shortboard – 2 competitors per team
SUP Men Surfing – One competitor per team
SUP Women Surfing – One competitor per team
SUP Men Racing – One competitor per team
Longboard Men – 2 competitors per team
Bodyboard Dropknee – One competitor per team
Aloha Cup – Combination of athletes to be determined

A total of 11 athletes plus coaches will make a full team. The countries that have already confirmed participation in the event are Chile, El Salvador, Venezuela, Ecuador and the organizer, Peru.

The Bolivarian Beach Games grew out of the Bolivarian Games, in which surfing was already included. Other Olympic Movement multi-sport events that have included surfing are the Asian Beach Games (2008), the South American Beach Games (2009 and 2011), and the Pacific Games (2011).

The Bolivarian Sports Organization (ODEBO) was created in honor of Simón Bolivar and includes: Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Panama, Peru and Venezuela. For the 2012 Bolivarian Beach Games, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala and Paraguay were also invited.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).