International Surfing Association Prepares For Game-Changing Moment In Rio

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

The International Surfing Association (ISA) has expressed its excitement and anticipation with just seven days to go until the IOC Membership makes the final decision on whether Surfing will be added to the Tokyo 2020 Sports Program at the 129th IOC Session in Rio on 3 August 2016. The IOC Executive Board confirmed its support for Surfing to join the Program on 1st June 2016.

Flags_Of_The_World_ISA_Chris_GrantThe top junior surfers in the world that competed in the 2015 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship could potentially become the first generation of Olympic surfers in 2020. Photo: ISA / Chris Grant

Speaking ahead of the IOC decision, ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, said:

“With just seven days to go until the IOC decides on whether Surfing joins the Sports Program for Tokyo 2020, the Surfing family is filled with excitement and anticipation about this potentially game-changing moment for our sport.

“Our relationship with the IOC and inclusion in the Olympic Games has been a strategic priority for the ISA for many years and we are thrilled to be on the cusp of realizing our Olympic dream. I’d like to express our sincere thanks to the IOC and Tokyo 2020 for providing us with this amazing opportunity.

“We are especially excited for the athletes, including budding stars and current elite surfers who would have the chance to represent their nations and showcase their talents on the greatest sporting stage. We head to Rio with gratitude and hope, fully committed to seizing this unique opportunity for all surfers worldwide.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).