Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

ISA to Distribute $50,000 in Scholarship Funds to Under-18 Surfers, Enrolled in School to Be Community Role Models

For the ninth consecutive year, the International Surfing Association (ISA) Individual Scholarship Program is officially open to qualified, under-18 surfers around the globe. The ISA Individual Scholarship Program is a life-changing event for young surfers.


Ntando Msibi Surf Shot[1]Ntando Msibi won the ISA Individual Scholarship in 2013 and 2014. Msibi surfed for Team South Africa at the 2014 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, and has been announced to compete again in 2015.

A total amount of $50,000 will be distributed in 2015 ranging between $100-$1,000. To date, the ISA has awarded more than $228,500 in scholarship funds to further the education and surfing careers of 267 individuals from all around the world.

The ISA Individual Scholarship Program seeks to award under-18 surfers [as of December 31, 2015] that are currently enrolled in school, recognized by their National Surfing Federation and demonstrate a financial need.

Scholarship funds are designed for three general purposes including: materials for education, surfing equipment as well as general fees as they relate to surf competition and training.

tonyschool_desaturated“I can now surf without having to worry about what I will eat and wear once I get out of the ocean,” said 8-year-old Anthony Rabbi, the youngest scholarship recipient of 2014.

“The ISA Individual Scholarship is a one-of-a-kind program that gives opportunity to underage surfers that truly deserve it,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Each year the ISA proudly provides scholarship funds to applicants all over the world who we believe embody the righteous spirit of surfing. If you know a surfer that is pursing education, surfing, demonstrates a financial need who can be considered a role model for their community please send them information to apply.”

For more information about the 2015 ISA Individual Scholarship Program, and to formally submit an application, visit — ISA Individual Scholarship Program

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).