International Surfing Association Forms New Athletes’ Commission to Amplify Voice of Athletes in Lead Up to Tokyo 2020

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

Multiple World Medalist across three ISA disciplines, Justine Dupont (FRA), to lead as Chair of the commission

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is proud to announce today the formation of a new Athletes’ Commission to ensure that athletes’ opinions are heard at the highest level of governance in Surfing, StandUp Paddle (SUP), and all surf-related disciplines.

France’s Justine Dupont, who has medaled across three ISA disciplines (Shortboard, Longboard, and SUP), has been appointed the Chair of the commission. Dupont most recently earned Team Gold at the 2017 ISA World Surfing Games and individual Silver in SUP Surfing at the 2017 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship.

Justine Dupont Credit @FredDavid

Justine Dupont (FRA) has excelled across various disciplines of Surfing, including, Shortboard, Longboard, SUP, and big wave riding. Photo: Fred David

Barbara Kendall (NZL), ISA Vice President, Chair of the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) Athletes’ Commission, and five-time Olympian will serve as the Ex Officio of the commission.

The full ISA Athletes’ Commission will be comprised of the following members:


Justine Dupont (FRA)

Ex Officio:

Barbara Kendall (NZL)


Dylan Lightfoot (RSA)
Alana Nichols (USA)
Masatoshi Ohno (JPN)
Casper Steinfath (DEN)
Miguel Tudela (PER)
Ella Williams (NZL)

The ISA Athletes’ Commission will operate with the following objectives:

  • To represent the rights and interests of the athletes to the ISA Executive Committee
  • To ensure the athletes’ opinion is heard at the highest level of governance of Surfing, Stand Up Paddling and all surf-related disciplines
  • To proactively consider issues relating to athletes and give advice to the ISA on athlete-related matters
  • To provide current and past international athletes with the opportunity to contribute to the continuous development, evolvement and growth of the sport of Surfing, Stand Up Paddling and all surf-related disciplines
  • To liaise with the Athletes Committee of the International Olympic Committee and other sporting organisations to enable the sharing of information and research

USA’s Alana Nichols, who made history as the first woman World Champion in the Waveski Division at the 2017 Stance ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship, will form part of the ISA Athletes’ Commission. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“What an amazing group of high character people to represent the athletes of Surfing, SUP, and all of their disciplines in the ISA!  We are proud and honored that these accomplished athletes have accepted to join our commission, which features gender equality and athletes from all continents of the globe.  This group is a great representation of the inclusive nature of the sport of Surfing.

“These athletes will play a vital role in the development and growth of Surfing as we head into the final stages of preparation for Surfing’s Olympic debut at the Tokyo 2020 Games. We will be heavily weighing these athletes’ advice and recommendations to take their interests into account when making high-level decisions.

“I welcome this great team to the ISA family and look forward working closely with them to promote the well-being and growth of Surfing worldwide.”

ISA Athletes’ Commission Chair, Justine Dupont (FRA), said:

“I am honored to accept the ISA’s invitation to chair the Athletes’ Commission. As a long-time ISA competitor and professional surfer, I am looking forward to taking a leadership role where I can make positive change for the sport that I love.

“The commission will be diligent and thorough in making sure that we are passionately representing the vision and interests of all athletes of all genders, disciplines, and nationalities, to ensure that we continue the positive growth of Surfing and on track to a great showing at Tokyo 2020.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).