Posted - News Posted for Chile News, ISA News, World Surfing News.

Strong Team Performance Boosts Peru into the Lead of the Team Points Ranking, Host Chile Nipping at Their Heels

BRA_Helliton_Loureiro_PabloJimenez-2Brazil’s Helliton Loureiro drives through a Punta Uno barrel on day 3 of competition. Photo: ISA/Pablo Jimenez

An intense day of critical heats transpired on the third day of action at the 2015 Iquique Para Todos ISA World Bodyboard Championship, bringing the competition one step closer to the Finals set for Sunday.

Team Peru put on a strong overall performance that boosted them into the overall lead in the Team Points Ranking with 6,335 potential points. Six of their seven athletes remain alive in the competition, including two, Miguel Rodriguez (Open Men) and Cesar Bauer (Dropknee) that have solidified their spots in the Grand Final of their respective divisions. Team Chile is nipping on the heels of Peru, in a very close second place with 6,310 potential points.

Click here to see the team point rankings.

On the men’s side of the action, heats in the Open, Junior and Dropknee Divisions ran at la Punta 1, with finalists being decided in Open and Dropknee. Peru’s Miguel Rodriguez came out victorious of a tight Open Men Main Event Final with a heat total of 16.87, barely edging out the 16.57 heat total of the home team hero, Chile’s Alan Muñoz. France’s Amaury Lavernhe and Chile’s Matias Diaz were relegated to the Repechage Round where they will try to scratch back into contention for a Gold Medal in the Grand Final.

Miguel Rodriguez ecstatically spoke about his performance that earned him a spot in the Grand Final.

“I am extremely happy. I was lucky enough to find some really good waves and make it to the Final. Competing against my idols, Amaury Lavernhe and Alan Muñoz, was incredible for me.”

PER_Team_PabloJimenezAlan Muñoz (CHI) embraces Miguel Rodríguez (PER) after they both advance to the Open Men Grand Final. Photo: Pablo Jimenez

The Dropknee Main Event Final was as closely contested as the Open Men’s, with another Peruvian, Cesar Bauer (11.33), barely surpassing Venezuela’s Luis Rodriguez (11.26) to place first in the heat and earn a spot in the Grand Final. Daniel Alves (BRA) and Martin Mouradian (FRA) did not advance through the heat, but will continue their quest for Gold in the elimination Repechage Rounds.

The female competitors left their mark on Friday’s competition, as France’s Anna Cécile Lacoste earned the first female 9-point ride of the competition in the Main Event Semifinals. Lacoste kept her strong form in the Main Event Finals placing second, advancing to the Open Women Grand Final along with the winner of the heat, Brazil’s two-time ISA Gold Medalist, Neymara Carvalho.

BRA_Neymara_Carvalho_FRA_Anne_Cecile_Lacoste_SeanEvansNeymara Carvalho (BRA) and Anne Cécile Lacoste (FRA) have guaranteed themselves a podium finish, heading to the Open Women Grand Final. Photo: ISA/Sean Evans

Venezuela’s Yuleiner Gonzalez could not find her rhythm in the Main Event Final and placed fourth in the heat. Gonzalez, who was not discouraged since she has another chance to advance in the Repechage Round, spoke about the importance of this competition in the international Bodyboard community.

This ISA World Championship is really important because it gathers the best athletes and countries of the sport. I am very proud to represent my country of Venezuela in this contest. We hope that one day we will get Bodyboarding all the way to the Olympics.”

ISA President Fernando Aguerre chimed in after the third day of action in Iquique.

“We are officially set for a weekend full of action, drama, emotion and of course high performance Bodyboarding. Tomorrow we will see athletes competing for a spot in the Grand Final the hard way, through the Repechage Rounds. Get ready for a historic weekend of bodyboarding.”

CHI_Nelson_Flores_PabloJimenez-3Chile’s Nelson Flores rolls off the lip, however it was not enough to avoid being eliminated from the competition. Photo: ISA/Pablo Jimenez

The second to last day of competition is all set at the 2015 Iquique Para Todos ISA World Bodyboard Championship, as the first Gold Medals will be awarded on Saturday in the ISA Aloha Cup Final.

Watch previous days’ webcast on demand:

For a full list of today’s results, visit:

The fourth day of competition will get underway at 8am on Saturday morning at la Punta 1 in Iquique, Chile with the following heats:

8 am 2 Heats Repechage Open Men Round 6
8 am 2 Heats Repechage Dropknee Round 2
9:20 am 1 Heat Main Evento U-18 Boys Round 3
9:40 am 1 Heat Repechage U-18 Boys Round 2
10 am 1 Heat Repechage Open Women Round 2
10:20 am 1 Heat Main Evento U-18 Girls Round 2
10:40 am 1 Heat Repechage Dropknee Round 3
11:00 am 1 Heat Repechage U-18 Boys Round 3
11:20 am 1 Heat Repechage Open Women Round 3
11:40 am 1 Heat Repechage Open Men Round 7
12:30 pm 1 Heat ISA Aloha Cup Final

The remaining contest schedule will be as follows:

  • Saturday, December 11 – Sunday, December 13 from 8am-1pm – Competition at La Punta 1
  • Sunday, December 13 – Final day of competition, Awards Presentation and Closing Ceremony

All times in Chile Standard Time.

For live action, photos, videos, news and event info, visit:

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).