Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The Great Waves of Iquique, Chile Continue To Provide The Ideal Platform For The World’s Best Bodyboarders

France’s Jeremy Arnoux advanced to the next round after placing second in an action-packed heat. Photo: ISA/Gonzalo Muñoz

Venezuela’s Yuleiner Gonzalez was one of the standouts in Open Women’s, earning a spot in Round 2 of the Main Event, and one step closer to the Final. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Day 2 of the 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship featured impressive scores and amazing performances by the world’s best bodyboarders.

Iquique continued to provide incredible waves for the competitors to put on a great show. On the second day of competition, the waves improved and increased in size to 4 to 6ft with occasional bigger sets. The bigger waves at Punta 1 allowed for deep barrel rides, radical air sections, and critical turns.

“Iquique is proving to be a bodyboarder’s dream,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “I’m very impressed by the high level of talent that the athletes are showcasing. The wave at Punta 1 is perfect and allows for a wide variety of maneuvers, keeping the action exciting for all the viewers watching the live webcast across the globe.”

The competition kicked of with Round 2 of Open Men’s Main event, followed by Round 1 of the Open Women’s, Junior U-18 Boys and Junior U-18 Girls, who got their first taste of competition at the 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship.

In the Open Men’s, a new high score of the event was posted by the local Chilean team member, Matias Diaz who earned an impressive total heat score of 16.67. In an exciting heat, Diaz narrowly defeated France’s Jeremy Arnoux (15.37), and sent to repechage, the high scoring athlete of Day 1, South Africa’s Iain Campbell (14.86), and Costa Rica’s Marlon Sandoval (9.17). The 3rd and 4th place finishers now have to fight their way to the Final through the Repechage Rounds.

Chile’s Matias Diaz. Photo: ISA/Gonzalo Muñoz

In Open Women’s, the standout was France’s Anne Cecile Lacoste, who earned a total of 13.23, the highest of the round, defeating South Africa’s Pamela Bowren (8.87), Costa Rica’s Shamobi Offer (6.87), and the local Chilean Paloma Freyggang (2.00), who was deemed two interferences and was forced to exit the heat. Freyggang and Offer will have one more opportunity for the Gold Medal through the Repechage bracket.

France’s Anne Cecile Lacoste. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Right after the Open Women’s was the Junior U-18 Boys bodyboarders turn to showcase all their skill in the waves of Punta 1. France’s Alexandre Castillo led the division, earning a total heat score of 14.93, defeating by a narrow margin Chile’s Yoshua Toledo (14.67), South Africa’s Tristan Roberts (12.60) and Costa Rica’s Alejandro Campos (10.77).

To wrap up the day, the Junior U-18 Girls hit the water. The standout for the division was the local 15 year-old star Anais Veliz, who scored and impressive 14.33 with a critical ARS. Veliz defeated Venezuela’s Yanelly Alvarez (3.53), South Africa’s Georgene McKeone (3.40) and France’s Kim Veteau (1.93).

For a full list of today’s results, click here:

The 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship resumes Tuesday at 8:30am (local time) in Iquique, Chile, with The Morning Show hosted by Begoña Martinez and Manny Vargas with the defending Gold Medal Team, Brazil.

Competition will feature:

8:30am Open Men’s – Repechage 2
10:40am Dropknee– Main Event 1
11:40pm Open Women’s – Main Event 2
12:30pm Junior U-18 Boys – Main Event 2
1:10pm Open Men’s – Main Event 3

The live webcast of the entire 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship is available on

About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 106 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit