Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

Surf legends Shaun Tomson, Rob Machado head the 30-Member Committee Comprised of Influential Members of the San Diego Community and the Surf Industry

The 2015 ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship presented by Challenged Athletes Foundation, Hurley, Stance and the City of San Diego has received a further boost following the creation of an official Honorary Committee comprised of influential members from the San Diego community and the Surf Industry.

Rob Machado_CAFRob Machado, Vice-Chair of the Honorary Committee, will provide the inaugural ISA World Championship with his experience and knowledge working with adaptive surfers.
Photo: Challenged Athletes Foundation

Chairman, Shaun Tomson, and Vice-Chairman, Rob Machado, both Surf legends, will head the Committee which will also feature a diverse group of individuals including the Mayor of San Diego, Kevin Faulconer, prominent business professionals, local athletes and other Surf Industry leaders.

The Honorary Committee was formed with the purpose of ensuring that the event receives the recognition and support that it deserves. The 30-member Committee is tasked with generating awareness and getting people involved in this inaugural ISA World Championship.

The 2015 ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship is set to take place September 24-27 in the greater area of San Diego at the iconic locations of Balboa Park and La Jolla Shores, California. The first competition of its kind to be hosted by the ISA will provide a platform for adaptive surfers to display their skills and represent their nation in a World Championship format.

horizontal-1_for_webThe official poster for the 2015 ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship presented by Challenged Athletes Foundation, Hurley, Stance and the City of San Diego, with artwork by Andy Davis. 

ISA President Fernando Aguerre stated, “I am humbled to have the support of this outstanding members from the community of San Diego and the Surf Industry for this inaugural ISA World Championship. This will be a historic moment for the city of San Diego and the sport. I am honored to join forces with the members of the Honorary Committee to further grow and develop Adaptive Surfing globally, and improving the lives of millions of people around the world.

The event schedule is as follows:

  • Thursday, Sept. 24 – 8am-1pm:  Adaptive Surfing Clinic at La Jolla Shores
  • Thursday, Sept. 24 – 5pm: Opening Ceremony at the Spreckels Organ Pavilion in Balboa Park
  • Friday, Sept. 25 – 8am-5pm: Live webcast of Day 1 of competition to begin at La Jolla Shores
  • Saturday, Sept. 26 – 10am-3pm: Adaptive Surfing Symposium featuring keynote speakers about the future development of Adaptive Surfing at the CAF headquarters
  • Sunday, Sept. 27 – 8am-5pm: Live webcast of Competition Finals at La Jolla Shores to culminate with the event’s Medal and Closing Ceremony

The Members of the Honorary Committee are:

  • Shaun Tomson, Chairman
  • Rob Machado, Vice-Chair
  • Fernando Aguerre
  • Santiago Aguerre
  • Debbie Beacham
  • Jesse Billauer
  • James Brennan
  • Jim Caccavo
  • Jeffrey Essakow
  • Mayor Kevin Faulconer
  • Neil Fiske
  • Lisa Freedman
  • Kelly Gibson
  • Bob Hurley
  • Debby Jacobs
  • Hal Jacobs
  • Jeff Jacobs
  • Paul Jacobs
  • Jeff Kearl
  • Annie Lawless
  • Greg Long
  • Bob McKnight
  • Dave Nash
  • Paul Naude
  • Alana Nichols
  • Greg Noll
  • Dene Oliver
  • Doug Palladini
  • Frank Ragen
  • Jon Roseman
  • Rusty
  • Jason Steris
  • Jon Sundt
  • Bill Walton
  • Stefanie Warren
About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).