Ghana Joins the ISA as its Newest Member

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.


Media Contact:
Pablo Zanocchi
Media Manager
International Surfing Association

December 20, 2010
La Jolla, California

The International Surfing Association (ISA), the surfing world’s governing authority recognized by the International Olympic Committee, is proud to welcome Ghana to its list of member nations.

The Ghana Surfing Association (GSA), led by President Charles Sampa, is now the country’s national governing body (NGB) of the sport.

“It is great to be recognized!  We are happy to be part of the ISA family, and we are eager to compete against other African nations as well as internationally,” said Sampa. “We hope that competing with others will help us improve our surfing level.”

Regarding the sport in his country, GSA president said, “Ghana is a great place to surf! We have several types of waves, beachbreaks, reefs, and point breaks. We are all still learning and practicing, and the most experienced of us teach a lot of kids. Despite the fact that we do not have a lot of boards, we still manage to teach them and they like it a lot.”

Fernando Aguerre, President of the ISA, said about the newest member, “We are very happy to welcome Ghana to the surfing movement. Since there are few NGBs in Africa, the ISA is working hard to include more countries from that region. Africa’s abundance of perfect waves makes it a great destination for surfing; the sport there has everything it needs to grow. We look forward to the development of surfing in Ghana, along with the continent’s surfing leader, South Africa, as the cornerstones of Africa’s surfing expansion.”

Located in Western Africa, bordering the Gulf of Guinea, between Cote d´Ivoire and Togo, Ghana has a coastline of over 500 km and receives swells primarily from the south. It has several beach and point breaks.

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA will hold the first Stand Up Paddle (SUP) World Championship and the first World Bodyboard Championship in 2011.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 64 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since.  The ISA’s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karín Sierralta (Peru).

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).