Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

ISA To Take Surfing Back To China For Third Consecutive Year

The International Surfing Association [ISA] has confirmed that a Chinese team will compete in the ISA China Cup for the first time ever, highlighting the growth of Surfing in new territories around the world.

china-2014-slideThe world class left point break at Riyue Bay await the world’s best surfers to compete in the 2014 Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival for the third consecutive year. Photo: ISA/Watts

Recently re-elected ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, made the landmark announcement as he unveiled plans for Surfing’s return to China for the third consecutive year with two separate events – the ISA China Cup and the Hainan Classic – set to take place during the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival from November 23-28 this year.

China will compete in the ISA China Cup for the first time ever alongside Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Costa Rica, Panama, Peru and South Africa who will also be competing for honours.

Following the completion of the ISA China Cup, the International Surfing Festival will continue with the Hainan Classic, an ASP [Association of Surfing Professionals] 4-star rated event, produced by the ISA, with a total prize purse of $95,000 USD. The winners of the event will also earn points that go towards qualification for the ASP World Tour.

bra_luan_wood02_isa_tweddle-f2014 ISA U-18 World Junior Surfing Champion, Luan Wood from Brazil will represent his National Team at the ISA China Cup. Photo ISA/Michael Tweddle

The ISA is expecting a field of 96 athletes, including a number of local Chinese Surfers.

More than 200 million people followed the 2013 Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival online, in print and on TV. The third edition of the event is set to be another historic moment that will spread further the core values of Surfing to new audiences all over the world.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, said:

“We’re delighted to confirm that a Chinese team will compete in the ISA China Cup for the first time ever. We have recently experienced huge growth in Asia thanks to a drive for expansion in new territories and this ground-breaking moment for the Chinese team is a reward for our global expansion strategy.

“For an entire week in November, China will become the Surfing capital of the world. The 2012 and 2013 editions proved to be hugely successful and working alongside our partners ASP and Womei Media I’m sure this year’s event will be just as good. The sporting competition is always first class and the huge media audience in the past two years a testament to the global reach of Surfing.

“Surfing is a sport that fundamentally resonates with young people and its booming popularity on a global scale underlines its true universality. With the evolving international Surfing calendar, our star competitors and powerful global reach we will endeavour to reach millions more people in countries and territories all over the world.”

ASP Australasia General Manager, Dane Jordan, said:

“The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) is excited to once again be working with the ISA to offer a fantastic opportunity for Chinese, Asian and the International Surfers, who will compete, to gain valuable ASP Qualifying Series (QS) ranking points and prize money to help setup their 2015 campaigns to qualify for the ASP World Championship Tour (WCT).

“The waves at Riyuewan are world class on their day and this event will give local Chinese surfers the chance to build up some ranking points and test themselves against some seasoned competitive surfers and the best upcoming juniors from around the world.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).