Posted - News Posted for Chile News, ISA News, World Surfing News.

Open Men, Junior Boys, Junior Girls and ISA Aloha Cup Run in the Powerful Waves of la Punta 1

FRA_Pierre_Luis_Costes_SeanEvans3France’s Pierre Louis Costes finds a critical section to perform a backflip at la Punta 1. Photo: ISA/Sean Evans

The world’s best bodyboarders took to the water on Day 2 of the 2015 Iquique Para Todos ISA World Bodyboard Championship, marking the first day of competition after a lay day on Tuesday. Day Two featured improved conditions with increasing pulses from an incoming swell, but a morning high tide and lulls between sets made for fierce, hard-fought heats as the athletes battled for position to find the waves with the highest scoring potential.

On Wednesday, heats in the Open Men, Junior Boys, Junior Girls and the ISA Aloha Cup Semifinals ran in the powerful waves of la Punta 1. The international contingent of competitors, reigning from 14 countries, showed the crowd that formed at Playa Cavancha the world-class talent that they possess.

Empty_SeanEvansA new swell filled in throughout the day on Wednesday, giving the athletes a glimpse of what is to come as it grows during the rest of the contest period. Photo: ISA/Sean Evans

The morning kicked off with the Junior U-18 Girls, who faced some of the toughest conditions due to the morning high tide. Japan’s Shiori Okazawa was able to find the best waves and connect multiple maneuvers before the waves washed over the exposed reef, notching the highest women’s heat total with 14.20 and highest women’s scoring wave of 7.27.

Following the Junior U-18 Girls, the men took to the water starting with Round 1 of the Junior Boys U-18 Main Event. The first men’s heat exemplified the level of competition present at this world championship, as Brazil’s Socrates Santana scored a heat total of 14.20 narrowly edging out France’s Mil Delage’s score of 13.27 for first in the heat. In the following heat the defending ISA Junior Bodyboard Champion, Iquique’s Yoshua Toledo, reminded the competition that he intends to repeat his title by finishing on top of his heat with a two wave total of 10.20 over Yazdanny Castro’s (CRI) 9.16 and Luis Zambrano’s (VEN) 4.40.

As the day progressed, the tide started to go out, which provided improved conditions for 11 heats of the Men’s Open Main Event. Team France made a statement as all three of their competitors, Pierre Louis Coste, Yuan Salaun and Amaury Lavernhe took first place in their respective heats. Lavernhe put an exclamation point on France’s strong performance, finding a long barrel and executing critical flips to earn the highest heat total of 17 and highest single wave total (8.83) of the day.

“I really like the vibes in this contest. I think it is really important for the sport,” stated Lavernhe. “I had a great heat and the swell is starting to build. It’s small out there but really powerful, a perfect wave for bodyboarding.”

Italy’s Davide Danti was one of the competitors who fell to victim to Team France’s dominance in the Men’s Open Division. As the sole representative of Italy, he spoke about the union and camaraderie among the teams at the competition.

“I came here alone to represent Italy in the competition so everyone knows that there is bodyboarding in Italy. I am surprised by the support from the other nations. Specifically the guys from Mexico, Costa Rica and the locals have been here behind me, holding my flag.”

Davide will have a second chance to advance in the Open Men’s Repechage Round on Thursday.

The afternoon proceeded with the first Repechage Round of the competition, as Portugal’s Carolina Esteves (8.63) and Peru’s Angela Lopez (7.5) were able to advance through the round and keep their hopes for a Gold Medal alive. Costa Rica’s Yuliana Campos’ score of 5.26 was not enough to overcome her opponents, resulting in her becoming the first athlete eliminated in the competition.

PER_Angela_Lopez_SeanEvansPeru’s Angela Lopez escapes elimination and advances through the Girls U-18 Repechage Round. Photo: ISA/Sean Evans

The first day of competition concluded with the ISA Aloha Cup, a tag-team style relay featuring two open men, one junior boy, one woman and one dropknee competitor from each of the of the top seven teams in the 2014 edition plus Japan, who did not compete last year. Chile and Japan advanced through the first Semifinal with respective team scores of 63.79 and 63.06, due to a costly jump-start penalty by Brazil that sent them from first to third place. In the second Semifinal, France and Portugal came out victorious over Venezuela and Costa Rica, set for a Finals showdown with Chile and Japan later in the week.

JPN_Yoshitada_Kondo_SeanEvansJapan’s Yoshitada Kondo sprints to the waves in his leg of the ISA Aloha Cup. Photo: ISA/Sean Evans

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, commented on the action packed first day of competition.

“The wait is over and competition is underway in Iquique. These athletes amazed with incredible, crowd-pleasing maneuvers and high scores. Stay tuned to see what is to come as the waves get bigger and the competition intensifies tomorrow!”

Watch previous days’ webcast on demand:

For a full list of today’s results, visit:

The second day of competition will get underway at 8am on Thursday morning at la Punta 1 in Iquique, Chile with the following heats:

8am – 06 Heats Main Event Open Men Round 2
10am – 03 Heats Main Event Open Women Round 1
11am – 03 Heats Main Event Drop Knee Round 1
12pm – 06 Heats Repechage Open Men Round 2
2pm – 03 Heats Main Event Open Men Round 3

The remaining contest schedule will be as follows:

  • Thursday, December 10 – Sunday, December 13 from 8am-3pm – Competition at La Punta
  • Sunday, December 13 – Final day of competition, Awards Presentation and Closing Ceremony

All times in Chile Standard Time.

For live action, photos, videos, news and event info, visit:

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).