Fernando Aguerre Re-Elected President of the ISA

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Surfing everyday is part of his life. Photo: Anthony Ghiglia

Punta Hermosa, Peru
October 23, 2010

The members of the International Surfing Association re-elected Fernando Aguerre for a seventh consecutive term as President of the ISA. The election was held last night at the ISA Biennial General Meeting in Punta Hermosa.

Aguerre was first elected President of the ISA in 1994. He has been re-elected six times. As of today, he will start his eight term as ISA President.

“Serving as ISA president is an honor and a pleasure. Working for a better surfing future fills my heart and is my way of giving back to the sport that has given ma so much. It is the greatest honor to have the support of all the federations and the millions of surfers around the world. Helping the federations realize their dreams and plans and becoming an Olympic Sport makes me look forward to four more years as president,” Aguerre stated after yesterday’s elections.

The ISA commitment to a better surfing future has materialized with Aguerre´s presidency. The ISA has been at the center of the expansion of surfing around the world and its influential presence in the youth culture.

His endless energy has been a powerful engine contributing to the ISA´s numerous achievements. Amongst them, recognition by the IOC, adoption of the dream teams concept for the ISA World Titles, creation of the Sands of the World Ceremony and the World Surfing Games, securing title sponsors for the top ISA events and the creation of the ISA Scholarships.

Today he starts another four-year term that will certainly bring more challenges and achievements. The morning after the election he said ¨I finished my term surfing, almost drowning in huge waves at La Isla, in Punta Hermosa. Life is great and surfing is a blessing. I want to continue to surf my life as a volunteer for a better surfing future.”

Additionally, ISA VP since 1996, Alan Atkins (Australia), was re-elected. Meanwhile, Robin de Kock (South Africa), VP since 1998, decided not to run for re-election this year.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).