Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

IOC Member Barbara Kendall and Stand-up Paddle Racing World Champion Casper Steinfath elected as ISA Vice-Presidents

Fernando Aguerre has been re-elected unopposed as President of the International Surfing Association (ISA) at the ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games in Punta RocasPeru. Aguerre will continue to lead the sport’s global development in what will be his eighth term as President.

After promoting the unique culture and youthful values of the sport as ISA President for the past two decades, Aguerre will continue to use his energy and passion for Surfing as the driving force behind its continued worldwide growth.

elections_25oct-michael_tweddle_14(from left to right) Current ISA Vice President Karin Sierralta joined by the newly re-elected ISA President Fernando Aguerre, and the new ISA Vice Presidents Barbara Kendall, and Casper Steinfath. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

The ISA Annual General Meeting also saw the appointment of two new Vice-Presidents with New Zealand Olympic Windsurfing Gold Medalist and IOC Member, Barbara Kendall MBE, and two-time ISA Stand-up Paddle [SUP] World Champion, Casper Steinfath, joining the ISA leadership structure.

In his re-election speech, Aguerre praised the election of Kendall and Steinfath as a key moment in the development of  the ISA. He also highlighted how the introduction of groundbreaking wave pool technology will play a ‘game-changing’ role in the future of the sport and how this, alongside the sport’s global youth appeal, will play a key part in the ISA’s drive for Olympic inclusion.

Speaking to the AGM after his re-election, Fernando Aguerre, ISA President, said:

“Electing Barbara Kendall to Vice President means that the ISA has gained a very experienced Olympic voice. It also means the ISA continues in its commitment to gender equality in Surfing, ensuring that the make-up of the governing body’s Executive Committee is a minimum of 40% female.

elections_25oct-michael_tweddle_4The new ISA Executive Board joined by representatives of ISA Member Nations including: Costa Rica, Mexico, Argentina, Israel, Japan, Colombia, Chile, Tahiti, South Africa, Venezuela, and Uruguay, during the elections at the Biennial General Meeting. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

“Casper Steinfath is respected by his peers in the Surfing and SUP Racing community around the world, not just because of his Surfing abilities, but also because he is somebody we can count on. He has a diverse background, speaks five languages and he will be a great ambassador for the ISA.

“Athletes are central to how the world of sport, including the IOC, operates and it’s great that we now have a young, active athlete in the Executive Committee to spread the youthful message of Surfing. Surfing speaks directly to young people. The unique culture and youthful values are the embodiment of the sport and we must harness this youthful energy and use it as a driving force behind our ambitions.

“With the new wave technology that is about to transform Surfing we are presented with a wonderful opportunity to take the sport to new territories. People who have never even been to the ocean will have the opportunity to Surf on consistent, high performance waves. This development really is a game changer for Surfing and combined with the sport’s global, youthful appeal, it can drive us towards the goal of Olympic inclusion.”

Barbara Kendall MBE, ISA Vice President and IOC Member, said:

“Surfing and the ocean have always been a huge part of my life and I am thrilled to be able to give something back to the sport in this way. The ISA is at a very exciting stage of its development and I’m delighted to be able to contribute to this important journey. With its young fans and global appeal, Surfing can continue to grow and realise its ambition of joining the Olympic Sports Programme.”

Casper Steinfath, Professional Surfer, said:

“This is a big honour for me and one I will embrace. I believe Surfing and SUP with their youthful values, have a unique way of connecting with people all over the world. As a competing athlete and a role model, I have a responsibility to express the true values of Surfing. I am now looking forward to taking on this additional role with the ISA and helping to take the message of Surfing to young people all over the globe.”


Note to Editors

ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games

The ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games (WSG) is an ISA World Championship that brings together surfers from all over the world to compete in Team, Open, and Women divisions. This year the championship is doubling up as a global celebration of the sport’s governing body hosting half a century of elite surfing championships around the globe.

See more at: http://www.isawsg.com

Barbara Kendall MBE

Barbara Kendall has represented New Zealand at five Olympic Games over the course of her career, which has seen her win Olympic medals in Gold, Silver and Bronze. Since her retirement from competitive windsurfing, she has been an active supporter of the Olympic Movement and currently sits on several IOC panels including the Athletes’ Commission, the Women in Sport Commission and the Sport and Environment Commission.

Casper Steinfath

Casper Steinfath is a 21-year-old professional Surfer from Denmark who has devoted his life to the water and waves. He embraces all surfing disciplines but he specialises in the Stand-Up Paddle technique at which he is a current world champion. As Vice-President of the Danish Surfing and Rafting Federation Steinfath was integral to seeing Denmark become an ISA member federation in 2012 and has since worked closely with the ISA on the sport’s global development.

Seven-time ASP professional champion and two-time ISA World Champion Layne Beachley and Peruvian Karin Sierralta are the other two Vice Presidents. They were elected in 2012.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).