Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The World’s Best Under-18 Surfers from 30 countries Put on Amazing Display in the Solid Waves of Playa Jiquiliste.

USA’s Jake Marshall took advantage of today’s spectacular conditions, advancing with a 1st place in the opening round. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship (WJSC) Presented by Billabong kicked offSunday with incredible surf in beautiful Playa Jiquiliste, Nicaragua. The competitors were greeted with great conditions and the famous Nicaraguan offshore winds, which provided a spectacular stage for the world’s best junior surfers.

A large Sunday crowd of Nicaraguans fans, team officials and supporters, witnessed the fierce competition from the beachfront grandstands built in Jiquiliste Beach for the ISA World Junior Championship.

“We had an amazing Day 1,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “We woke up this morning with a little drizzle but then it dried out and we had amazing waves and incredible offshore winds. It’s just perfect. On the first day, everybody is on the beach, you can feel the tension in the air, and the competitors were really focused.  We see a lot of nervous faces, but this is the most important day and we are rolling.”

The ISA WJSC has nearly 300 competitors and the event takes place on two separate surf sites, side-by-side. The first day of the WJSC featured Qualifying Round 1 of the Boys Under-18 in the Main Podium and the Boys Under-16 in the Second Podium, for a full day of action-packed surfing.

Today’s competition was led by Japan’s Hiroto Arai, who posted the highest wave point combination of the day, scoring 15.84, defeating  Mauricio Diaz (PUR, 10.30), Miguel Blanco (POR, 9.64) and Aurelio Prieto (ECU, 8.83).

The 2013 DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship is a double elimination competition, with the first two surfers always advancing to the next Qualifying Round. Surfers in third and fourth place move into the Repechage Round, giving them a second chance to advance. However, another third or fourth place finish, and they will be out of the competition.

Other top performers of this day in the Boys Under-18 were Benji Brand from South Africa, who scored 15.17 against Kevin Schultz (USA, 9.47), Arne Bergwinkl (GER, 9.16) and Jorge Rivas (SAL, 5.50).

In the Boys Under-16 Division, the contest had a marathon day of surfing, with 32 Heats in Qualifying Round 1. The younger competitors also posted impressive performances with great scores.

Members of Nicaragua’s first-ever National Junior Surf Team congratulate Kevin Cortez on advancing to the next qualifying round. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

France’s Nomme Mignot posted the highest heat total score, with 15.75 points, defeating Jorge Rivas (SAL, 8.90) and sending to the Repechage Rounds Malakai Martinez (CRI, 6.85). Mignot also had the highest single wave score of the day in this heat, earning a 9.25.

USA’s Griffin Colapinto was another standout earning the second highest total heat score with 14.75, defeating Argentina’s Sebastian Ventura (5.95) and sending to the Repechage Juan Gonzales (PUR, 4.85)

For a full list of today’s results, click here- http://isawjsc.com/results/

The 2013 DAKINE ISA World Surfing Games resumes Monday at 7:40am with The Morning Show hosted by Chris Ernst and Mateo Rojas.

Following that, the competition will feature:
16 heats of under-16 Boy’s Qualifying Round 2 (Main Podium)
12 heats of under-18 Boy’s Qualifying Round 2 (Main Podium)

12 heats of under-16 Girl’s Qualifying Round 1 (Second Podium)
12 heats of under-18 Girl’s Qualifying Round 1 (Second Podium)

The live webcast of the entire 2013 DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship is available on www.isawjsc.com

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).