Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The World’s Best Men Light Up Punta Rocas, While The Women Get Their First Shot On Monday

The conditions at the world-class point break of Punta Rocas, Peru, suited South Africa’s Michael February well, earning the highest total heat score of the day of 16.13. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

The incredible waves of Punta Rocas, Peru continued to provide an excellent opportunity for the world’s best surfers from the 22 National Teams to perform at the highest level of competition.

Argentina’s Santiago Muniz dominated his heat earing a 15.50 score, and is looking to reclaim the Gold Medal he won at the 2011 ISA World Surfing Games. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Day 2 of the Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games was another action-packed day with plenty of swell in the water. Though the SSW swell that provided double-overhead surf on Saturday slightly dropped, the easing surf remained well overhead with long walls of over 150 yards long.

Team Russia waving their national flag proudly while cheering on their teammate. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

“Last night we had the Annual and Biennial General meetings where we elected two new Vice Presidents, Barbara Kendall an Olympic Gold Medalist and Member of the International Olympic Committee from New Zealand, and Casper Steinfath, current ISA SUP Racing World Champion,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “It’s a great new team and I got re-elected, so I get the chance to work for another four years. I love this, it’s what is in my mind and heart, to promote the sport as a force of good.”

Aguerre continued, “Today was sunny and the waves were great, a little smaller than yesterday. It was a very good competition day, we ran the remaining heats of Round 1 and then Round 2, and tomorrow is the turn for the ladies, early in the morning, it’s going to be amazing.”

Ecuador’s Jonathan “El Gato” Zambrano Chila. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

In the first heat of the day, it was a history making moment for the ISA, with the first time a surfer from the United Arab Emirates, to compete at an ISA World Championship. The Dubai native, Mohammad Rahma, learned to surf just a few years ago at the Wadi Adventures Wave Pool in Abu Dhabi. Rahma got injured playing for the Rugby National Team and during his rehabilitation process, would run on the beach where he first encountered surfers. He decided to give it a try and fell in love with the sport.

Mohammad Rahma from United Arab Emirates. Photo: ISA/ Rommel Gonzales

“This is my first contest in the ocean and also the first one that I see, so I’m really stoked to be out there,” commented Rahma. “It was very big and a bit tough conditions. It’s the biggest swell that I have seen in my life, so I’m really excited. The first heat is out of my way and I feel more comfortable now and ready for the Repechage.”

South Africa´s Michael February achieved the highest total heat score of the day in a very close heat against Argentina’s Leandro “Lele” Usuna. February sealed the victory in his first two waves with a 7.00 and 9.13, for a total of 16.13, followed by Usuna’s 7.83 and 6.50, for a total of 14.33. Both surfers defeated Ecuador’s Sebastian Santos (9.24) and Carlos Goncalvez (7.14).

“Lele” Usuna bottom turning ahead of a big wall ahead. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

“I’m really happy, I had a very good heat. Yesterday was a bit slow, but I could put a good heat together today,” said a relieved Michael February. “The waves are really fun, I just want to surf as best as I can and aim to get some good scores. My highest wave was a very good and long wall. There are not many like that, so I’m happy to get that one and get a good score. Tomorrow I want to be on the beach supporting everyone on my team and I hope that everyone goes well.”

Another notable performer was Argentina’s Santiago Muniz, who dominated his heat earing a 15.50 score, and is looking to reclaim the Gold Medal he won at the 2011 ISA World Surfing Games.

Team Peru is defending their home court well, with all four surfers advancing to Round 3 of the Main Event. Cristobal de Col (12.17), Gabriel Villaran (13.23), Joaquin del Castillo (11.5), and Sebastian Alarcon (15.1), will be looking to do their part to repeat the 2010 ISA World Surfing Games Team Gold Medal.

Peru’s Gabriel Villaran. Photo: ISA Michael Tweddle

For a full list of today’s results, click here- http://isawsg.com/results/

The Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games resumes tomorrow at 7:40am with The Morning Show hosted by Mike Latronic with Guest Mohammad Rahma from United Arab Emirates.

Following the Morning Show, competition will feature:
6 heats of Open Women’s Main Event Round 1
6 heats of Open Men’s Main Event Round 3
6 heats of Open Men’s Repechage Round 1

The live webcast of the entire Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games is available on http://isawsg.com/. You can also watch the replay of each day by clicking the tab “Previous Days Webcast.”

Here is the scheduled for Day 3:
Monday, 7:40am Punta Rocas, Peru
Monday, 5:40am West Coast USA
Monday, 2:40pm Western Europe/ South Africa
Monday, 9:40pm Tokyo, Japan
Monday, 11:40pm Sydney, Australia
Tuesday, 12:40am Auckland, New Zealand

About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 104 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit www.isasurf.org