Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

On a beautiful night in Lima, Peru, Club Waikiki was host of the reintroduction of the Eduardo Arena Team Trophy

ISA Founder Eduardo Arena with current ISA President Fernando Aguerre and the Eduardo Arena Perpetual Trophy

After 41 years missing, the original Eduardo Arena Trophy was reintroduced as the “Eduardo Arena Perpetual Trophy” to be awarded to the ISA Masters World Champion Team, starting next April in Montañita, Ecuador.

Club Waikiki, one the longer standing Surf Clubs in the world and a landmark in the Peruvian and Latin-American surf culture, was host to the presentation of the Eduardo Arena Team Trophy.

Club Waikiki gave a warm welcome to the participants of the ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship from around the world, club members, media and ISA leaders.

After an introduction by Club Waikiki President Jose Osterling, the legendary Eduardo Arena, founder and first President of the ISA, told the history of this event.

“We meet here because Fernando has asked me to deliver to the ISA the original trophy that I donated to the ISA in 1964. After almost 50 years, we found the original jewelers that made the trophy, and even the original artist that actually made the original. With photos and his recollections, they were able to make an identical new trophy”.

Arena then presented the trophy to ISA President, who then addressed the guests.

“We have made a lot of work to get this trophy back,” noted President Aguerre.  “Two years ago we decided to ask Eduardo if he was interested in donating a replica of the original trophy. We love Peru, and this trophy means a lot to the history of our sport. We are happy to welcome back the trophy to the ISA World Championships, and there is no more appropriate place to do it, than in Peru, where the original trophy was first awarded 48 years ago. From this year on, it will be awarded to the ISA Masters World Team Champion, and the name of the winner will be engraved below all the original Champions”.

Aguerre added, “Thanks to all of you who made this possible, and to all of you from around the world, thank you for coming to Peru and thank you for taking back home the warmth of the Peruvian surfing culture”.

In the eve of its 50 anniversary (the ISA was originally founded in 1964), the ISA is happy to welcome back surfing’s original World Champion trophy.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).