Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Powerful Double-Overhead Waves Welcomed the 22 National Teams At The World-Class Point Break of Punta Rocas, Peru

Punta Rocas was on fire for Day 1 of competition with perfect double overhead waves. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games kicked off with incredible double-overhead waves. The world-class point break of Punta Rocas, Peru, welcomed the 22 National Teams for the first day of competition.

Peruvian surfing star, Cristobal De Col, 2011 ISA World Junior Champion, felt right at home in the big waves at Punta Rocas, and was the top performer of the day. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

As predicted by Surfline, the official forecaster of the event, the surf ranged from 6-8ft faces with occasional larger sets throughout the day. The winds remained calm and conditions were clean. All the athletes and local fans had their eyes fixed on the line-up awaiting the next set.

With the size and power of the waves, the surfers were able to execute a variety of maneuvers and demonstrate strong power surfing with critical turns.

Punta Rocas in all its glory. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

“Finally the first day of competition has arrived! Yesterday we had an incredible Opening Ceremony in downtown Lima, and it was amazing. We went to go visit the Presidential house, it was a day to be remembered,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “This is the ISA’s 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games here in Peru and today was an unforgettable day with big and perfect waves. The people of Peru and all of the fans watching the live webcast around the world, are in for a great show throughout the whole competition. Watch it live everyday on www.isawsg.com!”

Australia’s Hayden Blair advanced into next round with critical power surfing maneuvers. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

Day 1 of the Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games featured 18 heats of Open Men’s Main Event Round 1.

Peruvian surfing star, Cristobal De Col, 2011 ISA World Junior Champion, felt right at home in the big waves at Punta Rocas, and was the top performer of the day. De Col earned a 15.90 total heat, the highest of the day. The Peruvian defeated New Zealand’s Tane Wallis (11.00) and Uruguay’s Segundo Vargas (7.60).

“I had a bad start of my heat because in the first wave my board broke so I had to paddle in to change it. Amazingly, the wave that I surfed to get out, I got a 9. After, with a new board I got a 6.90. The wave is incredible; you just have to know the right place to position yourself. You can surf a lot of good waves and do a lot of maneuvers, but a mistake can take a lot of time.”

Peru’s Cristobal De Col, swapping out his broken board in the middle of the heat. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

“I’m very happy to be part of the team this year, we are very united and I think that this is going to be the key for this event. I like to compete in ISA events, especially this one that is being held at my home and celebrating the ISA’s 50 years.”

The Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games is a double elimination competition, with the first two surfers always advancing to the next round in the Main Event. Surfers in third and fourth place move into the Repechage Round, giving them a second chance to advance. However, another third or fourth place finish, and they will be out of the competition.

Mexico’s Diego Cadena. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

Another top performer of the day was Puerto Rico’s Tommy Bursian, who earned the second highest total heat score of 15.50, defeating Australia’s Hayden Blair (13.00), and Switzerland’s Christen Pascal (2.00).

For a full list of today’s results, click here- http://isawsg.com/results/

The Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games resumes tomorrow at 7:40am with The Morning Show hosted by Julien “Vico” Hammel and Mike Latronic with Guests Team Mexico.

Following The Morning Show, competition will feature:
6 heats of Open Men’s Main Event Round 1
12 heats of Open Men’s Main Event Round 2.

The live webcast of the entire Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games is available on http://isawsg.com/

Here is the scheduled for Day 2:
Sunday, 7:40am Punta Rocas, Peru
Sunday, 5:40am West Coast USA
Sunday, 2:40pm Western Europe/ South Africa
Sunday, 9:40pm Tokyo, Japan
Sunday, 11:40pm Sydney, Australia
Monday, 12:40am Auckland, New Zealand

About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 106 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit www.isasurf.org