Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Miraflores, Lima, Peru, February 25, 2013- The International Surfing Association is pleased to announce day one of competition of the 2013 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship kicked-off in great surf conditions in the waist to chest-high range.

After the fog cleared, which forced competition to go into a holding pattern for the first part of the morning, day one featured the best Men and Women SUP Surfers from all over the world. Conditions stayed glassy all day, and the competitors enjoyed the long rights at La Pampilla Beach in the beautiful city of Miraflores in Lima, Peru, where local spectators came to watch the World Championship and cheer on their National Team.

Casper Steinfath, who moved into Round 3, is representing Team Denmark for the first time ever in an ISA Championship. Photo: ISA/Tweddle

“The world’s best SUP Surfers showed today how fast this sport is progressing,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “It’s amazing to see all the competitors both Men and Women perform at the highest level of competition and I am excited to see the rest of the week unfold. It’s a very special feeling to see all the National Teams cheering on each other and being able to witness the universal camaraderie of the sport.”

Today’s SUP Surfing Men’s standouts include Australia’s Beau Nixon (AUS) who earned the two top scoring heats of the day with a 15.74 total heat score in Round 2 and a 14.83 in Round 1, and Justin Holland who earned a 14.83 total heat score in Round 2.

Local favorite, Brissa Malaga from Peru, was one of today’s standouts in Women SUP Surfing. Photo: ISA/Tweddle

Notable performances of the day include Denmark’s Casper Steinfath who has moved into Round 3 with two 2nd place finishes in his Round 1 and 2 heats. Steinfath will be facing tough competition in his Round 3 heat against Brazil’s SUP Surfing Standout, Carlos Bahia, Sean Poynter (USA) and the local favorite Jose Gomez (PER). Mexico’s Hector Gonzalez also had a strong performance winning his Round 2 heat.

On the SUP Surfing Women’s side, Brazil’s Nicole Pacelli got off to a great start with the highest heat score of the day earning a 13.00 total heat score. Additional standouts include Shakira Westdorp (AUS), South Africa’s Tammy Robarts, and Peru’s Brissa Malaga.

Today, regardless of the athlete’s placing, no one has lost out of the competition. All the athletes placing 1st and 2nd moved on to the next round and all athletes that placed 3rd and 4th move on to the repechage round.

Tomorrow, the day will get started with the daily morning show at 7:40am followed by SUP Surfing and lastly the Long Distance Race that features the SUP Racing and Paddleboarding for both Men and Women.

Here is the schedule for the second day of the 2013 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship live webcast:

Tuesday, 7:40am Peru
Tuesday, 4:40am West Coast USA
Tuesday, 1:40pm Western Europe
Tuesday, 11:40pm Sydney, Australia
Calculate the time for all other areas

About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 106 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit