DaKine Named Title Sponsor of the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in 2012

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

A regular at the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, recent addition to the ASP World Tour top 32, Kolohe Andino (USA). Above, Andino in New Zealand 2010. Photo: ISA/CPL

The leading surfing accessories brand is the new title sponsor of the largest competition in the world for surfers under 18 years old

La Jolla, California, January 19, 2012 – The International Surfing Association, the World Governing Authority for Surfing recognized by the International Olympic Committee, is proud to announce that DaKine has signed a sponsorship agreement for the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship.

The traditional Hawaiian accessories company, originally from Haiku, Maui, committed for two years as the title sponsor of the largest competition in the world for surfers under-18 years old.

The 2012 DaKine ISA World Junior Surfing Championship will be presented by Billabong, DaKine’s parent company, and will be held at Playa Venao, Panama from April 14 to 22. It will be the 10th edition of the most prestigious international team event for junior surfers.

“This is great news to celebrate the tenth anniversary of the ISA Juniors,” said ISA President, Fernando Aguerre. “We began the under-18 World Championship when we anticipated a growth trend in youth surfing globally. Today, this event gathers 300 surfers from 30 countries on a yearly basis, and to share such a beautiful experience with a grassroots surfing brand, DaKine, is great for everyone. I am looking forward to the 2012 edition of the event in surf-rich Panama.”

Billabong USA President Paul Naude commented: “DaKine is a hard core surf accessory brand focused on developing products that help to improve a surfer’s performance. It’s a natural fit for DaKine to support the ISA World Juniors where the highest level of performance is being judged on every ride during the competition.”

The ISA World Junior Surfing Championship started in 2003 in Durban, South Africa with a little over 100 athletes from 11 nations. Two years later in Huntington Beach, California, the event had 250 entries and 29 countries participating. Today it is the largest junior surfing event in the world.

Australia has won six Team Gold Medals, while Hawaii, Brazil and Peru have won one event each.

The 2012 DaKine World Junior Surfing Championship Presented by Billabong will see the best surfers competing for the gold in the Boys Under-18, Boys-Under 16 and Girls Under-18 divisions. Surfers will compete for individual and team medals.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).