Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The First Athletes Drop Out Of The Competition In The Do-Or-Die Repechage Rounds

The Dropknee riders had a chance to demonstrate their skills for the first time in the competition, and Chile’s Michel Copetta felt right at home at Punta 1 and advanced to the next Main Event Round. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

In a very close Repechage heat, France’s Maxime Castillo placed third, despite nice barrel rides, and was eliminated from the competition. Photo: ISA/Gonzalo Muñoz

The 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship intensified on Day 3 in Iquique, Chile. Every team and its athletes are fighting for a spot in the next round to add as many points as possible to earn the coveted World Team Champion Trophy and Individual Gold Medals.

In a beautiful and sunny Tuesday, the first Repechage Round took place, and the first athletes dropped out of the competition in the do-or-die heats.

Iquique, once again, delivered great waves in the 3 to 5ft range and offered some great tube rides and radical sections for airs and critical turns.

ISA President Fernando Aguerre commented:

“Its been an incredible competition and Iquique has delivered the waves its famous for. The swell is expected to continue to build through the next two days, so it will be wonderful to witness the world’s best bodyboarders perform in the larger surf in Chile. The team camaraderie on the beach has been amazing, making sure all the athletes have full support of their teammates with loud cheers and National Flags waiving high.”

Day 3 kicked off with the first Repechage Round in the competition. In the Open Men’s Repechage, the standout was Brazil’s Sergio Luis, who earned an impressive total heat score of 15.17 to defeat Ecuador’s Adrian Alcivar (9.84), while Costa Rica’s Marlon Sandoval (9.52), Puerto Rico’s Javier Cruzado (7.80) from Puerto Rico are now out of the event.

Brazil’s Sergio Luis. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales.

Following the Repechage, was the first opportunity the Dropknee riders had a chance to demonstrate their skills. France’s Amaury Laverhne, who is also competing in Open Men’s, posted a dominating heat score of 16.33, defeating Chile’s Michel Copetta (10.80), South Africa’s Iain Campbell (9.66) and Costa Rica’s William Fallas (6.70).

France’s Amaury Lavernhe. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The day closed with Round 2 of Open Women’s Main Event, where Venezuela’s Yuleiner Gonzales posted the highest score of the event, a 17.50 and continues to push women’s bodyboarding to the limits. The Venezuelan defeated defending Gold Medalist Neymara Carvalho (10.10) from Brazil and South Africa’s Pamela Bowren (9.00).

Venezuela’s Yuleiner Gonzalez. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

For a full list of today’s results, click here:

The 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship resumes Wednesday at 7:40am (local time) in Iquique, Chile, with The Morning Show hosted by Begoña Martinez and Philip Muller featuring the local Chilean National Team.

Competition will feature:

8:00am Open Men’s – Main Event 3
9:00am Open Men’s– Repechage 3
10:00am Dropknee – Main Event 2
10:40am Junior U-18 Boys – Main Event 2
11:20am Open Women’s – Repechage 1
11:40am Junior U-18 Boys – Repechage 1
12:00pm Dropknee – Repechage 1
12:20pm Open Men’s– Repechage 4

The live webcast of the entire 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship is available on

About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 104 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit