Club Rivalry Included in Fast Approaching National Champs in New Zealand

Posted - News Posted for New Zealand News, World Surfing News.

Source: Surfing New Zealand

Entries are starting to roll in for the National Surfing Championships that take place at Gisborne from 12 – 18 January 2014.  This year, New Zealand’s top surfers will not only be competing for themselves but also for their boardrider clubs with an Interclub Championship added to New Zealand’s most prestigious surfing event.

Matt Hewitt Nats2013 1

Matt Hewitt

Surfing New Zealand affiliated boardrider clubs will accumulate points towards the championship in order to find the overall premier boardrider club for 2014.  This will add a great team aspect to the event and will have club members supporting one another to get good results.

Ultimately, the club that takes out the championship will prove that they are well rounded with each club’s top five results spread across the 23 divisions going toward the points tally.

The five results counted for each club will be broken down as follows: Top Open Men’s Division surfer, top female surfer (any division), top junior surfer (any division male or female), top age group surfer (Over 28s – Over 60s) plus the clubs top other result.

The Interclub Championship has not been contested for the past three years.  Bay Boardriders from Mount Maunganui currently hold the title after winning in 2010 when they defeated Gisborne Boardriders, Point Boardriders and Whangamata Boardriders in a separate stand-alone event.

“We have had the trophy for a few years now so I guess it is time to put it back up for a challenge and generate some good old club rivalry” commented Bay Boardriders spokesperson Owen Barnes, himself an ex National Junior Champion.  “We have a very strong club of surfers at the moment but the Gisborne Boardriders at home will be hard to beat.  They have some amazing depth across their entire club.  It will be interesting to see how it unfolds” added Barnes.

Gisborne will be able to pull on resources from all over their district including defending Open Men’s Division champion Jay Quinn who has indicated a return to New Zealand for the event.  Also the likes of older brother Maz, New Zealand’s highest internationally ranked surfer Richard Christie, up and coming junior female Jasmine Smith and of course who could forget the likes of John Gisby with in excess of 30 age group titles to his name.

New Zealand has a network of over 30 boardrider clubs scattered along the coastline of both islands.  Hence not only will this event find the ultimate club but there will also be a series of mini-battles between clubs from within districts, regions and islands.

The National Championships were last held at Gisborne in 2010, the Open Men’s Division taken out by Billy Stairmand (Rag) and the Open Women’s Division taken out by Laura Rishworth (Mnt).

Over 250 entries are expected for the event which caters for every surfing discipline and age group on offer.

National titles will go up for grabs in 23 divisions at the National Championships come January.  Additional divisions comprise of age groups from Under 14 through to Over 60s and also Longboard, Stand Up Paddleboard and Kneeboard disciplines.  New for 2014 will be women’s stand up paddleboard divisions for both surfing and racing.

The event will take place from the 12th – 18th January and coincides with Gisborne Boardrider Club’s 50th Anniversary celebrations.

It will be the fifteenth time the event has been held at Gisborne.

The schedule of events has been confirmed with a staggered start to several divisions and categories:

12 Jan – Open Men’s and Junior Men’s Divisions
13 Jan – All of the above
14 Jan – All of above plus Women’s Shortboard Divisions
15 Jan – All of the above plus Longboard and older age group divisions
16 Jan – All of the above
17 Jan – All of the above plus SUP (Men and Women) and Kneeboard
18 Jan – All of the above plus SUP Race

Set out below are the winners of key divisions for the past five years.

Open Men
2009 – Matt Hewitt (Mnt)
2010 – Billy Stairmand (Rag)
2011 – Jay Quinn (Gis)
2012 – Billy Stairmand (Rag)
2013 – Jay Quinn (Gis)

Open Women
2009 – Daisy Thomas (Chch)
2010 – Laura Rishworth (Mnt)
2011 – Airini Mason (Chch)
2012 – Thandi Durham (Tara)
2013 – Mischa Davis (Piha)

Junior Men (U/18)
2009 – Ryan Hawker (Piha)
2010 – Johnny Hicks (Gis)
2011 – Ben Poulter (Rag)
2012 – Tane Wallis (Auck)
2013 – Elliot Paerata – Reid (Piha)

2009 – Daniel Proctor (Gis)
2010 –  Dylan Barnfield (Ohope)
2011 – Thomas Kibblewhite (Auck)
2012 – Thomas Kibblewhite (Auck)
2013 – Daniel Procter (Gis)

Complete lists of all National Champions are located on the Surfing New Zealand website.

Entry into the National Championships can be completed at Surfing New Zealand under events.

Further Information
For further information on the 2014 National Championships please contact Surfing New Zealand’s Ben Kennings on 021 2278732 or email   benkennings@surfingnz.co.nz.

High resolution action images of the surfing will be available to media free of charge upon request.

Event Hotline
The Surfing New Zealand event hotline is 0211134506.  This will be updated daily at approximately 7am with venue, divisions contested and conditions.

Surfing New Zealand Newsletter
If you want to keep updated with surfing information delivered right to your inbox then sign up to the SNZ Newsletter.

Follow Surfing New Zealand and the National Championships
Updates will be fed to the SNZ website via twitter so stay tuned in.  Alternatively follow the action via the SNZ Facebook, SNZ Twitter and @surfingnz on Instagram.

Surfing New Zealand are proudly partnered by:

Hyundai New Zealand
Sport NZ