Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Australia’s Dimity Stoyle Earned the First Perfect 10 of the Championship

Day 2 offered smaller surf than yesterday’s picture-perfect waves and with clean conditions at the 2013 Reef ISA World Surfing Games in Playa Santa Catalina, Panama.

Round 2 of the Open Men’s Qualifying and the Opening Round of the Open Women’s were on the schedule.

“The performance level from the world’s best men and women was great today,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “The camaraderie between all the National Teams and the local Panamanians has created a great vibe amongst the surfing tribe. With tropical air and water temperatures, Santa Catalina is a surfer’s dreamland. Stay tuned all week and don’t miss a minute of the live webcast. And if you can’t, just log in and watch the photo albums and the video highlights, capturing the essence of this incredible event.”


In the Open Men’s, Australia’s Thomas Woods, once again, was the standout of the day, posting the highest total heat score of 16.47. The smaller conditions suited his powerful surfing style and aerial maneuvers. Woods defeated Davey Brand (RSA, 12.66), while Lucas Santamaria (ARG, 11.54) and Miguel Tudela (PER, 9.20) fell into the Repechage Round.

In a high scoring affair and heat of the day, Mexico’s Adrian Gonzales (16.00) narrowly defeated South Africa’s Shaun Joubert (15.70), sending Wade Carmichael (AUS, 8.50) and Carlos Goncalves (ECU, 4.14) into the Repechage.

Other Men’s standouts were Brazil’s Alan Johnes, who had the second highest heat score of the day, 16.33, as well as local surfer Jean Carlos “Oli” Gonzales, who earned a 14.66, making Panama proud as he advanced to the next Qualifying Round.


On the Women’s side, Australia’s Dimity Stoyle, Copper Medalist from the 2011 ISA World Surfing Games, had the first perfect 10 of the competition, while posting the day’s highest heat score, 17.67. Stoyle was dominant in her win over Sofia Alonso (URU, 6.10) and Evelin Centeno (SAL, 6.10).

Other standouts were Ecuador’s Dominic Barona and New Zealand’s Ella Williams. Barona, with a 14.50 total heat score, defeated Valeria Sole (PER, 11.87) and Nao Omura (JPN, 11.50). Williams had a dominating performance with a total heat score of 14.33, defeating Faye Zoetmulder (RSA, 8.60), and sending into the Repechage Leah Oke (CAN, 5.93) and Greta Dalle Luche (ITA, 4.10).

For a full list of today’s results, click here-

The 2013 Reef ISA World Surfing Games resumes tomorrow at 7:40am (Panama time) with The Morning Show hosted by Otto Flores. His guest will be Costa Rica’s Gilbert Brown and Peru’s Valeria Sole.

Following that, the competition will feature:
Open Women’s Repechage Round 1
Open Women’s Qualifying Round 2
Open Men’s Repechage Round 1

The live webcast of the entire championship is available on

Here is the scheduled for Day 2:
Sunday, 7:40am Santa Catalina, Panama
Sunday, 5:40am West Coast USA
Sunday, 2:40pm Western Europe/ South Africa
Sunday, 11:40pm Sydney, Australia
Monday, 12:40am Auckland, New Zealand

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).