Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Peru’s National Team Was Joined By ISA And Peruvian Dignitaries, Plus The Country’s Top Media Outlets At The Official Press Conference

(Bottom row from left to right) Team Peru Member Analí Gómez, ISA Vice President Karin Sierralta, Peruvian Surfing Federation President Carlos Neuhaus, Municipality of Lima Manager of Sports and Recreation Ismael Mañuico, Claro’s Gabriela Cuba, Team Peru Member and 2011 ISA World Junior Champion Cristobal De Col, and Team Peru Member Sebastian Alarcon, joined by the rest of the National Team. Photo: ISA/ Rommel Gonzales

The Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games begins Friday with the Opening Ceremony featuring the Parade of Nations and Sands of the World Ceremony. All 22 National Teams and over 150 Athletes and Team Officials will gather and parade around Lima’s iconic “Plaza de Armas” in the center of the city, in front of thousands of local spectators.

During the Opening Ceremony, each National Delegation comes to the stage waving their national flag while pouring sand from their local beach into a glass container symbolizing the peaceful gathering of nations through the love of surfing.

Thursday, the official press conference of the Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games took place in the majestic Municipal Theater of Lima, where over 40 representatives of Peru’s leading TV, print, and online media outlets were present.

In attendance were ISA Vice President Karin Sierralta, Municipality of Lima Manager of Sports and Recreation Ismael Mañuico, Peruvian Surfing Federation President Carlos Neuhaus, Presenting Sponsor Claro’s Gabriela Cuba, Peruvian National Surfing Team Members, Analí Gómez, Sebastian Alarcon, and 2011 ISA World Junior Champion Cristobal De Col.

ISA Vice-President Karin Sierralta said, “This will be a historic event. The ISA is celebrating its 50th Anniversary in Peru’s famous waves, and we feel very happy to be part of this historic event. This is going to be a great moment, with a lot of camaraderie and amazing waves.”

The surfers from the 22 National Teams continue to warm up in Punta Rocas and enjoyed the increasing swell that is forecasted by Surfline to arrive just in time for the start of competition with overhead waves. Photo: ISA/ Michael Twedle

Ismael Mañuico, Manager of Sports and Recreation of Municipality of Lima said:

“Lima is one of the few cities in the world that has consistent breaks on its shore, and at the same time, Surfing is an sport that has given so many achievements to Peru. We are going to have an elite competition and I hope that the Team Trophy stays on our turf.”

The live webcast of the Parade of Nations and the Opening Ceremony will begin at 10:00am, local time and can be viewed on

Here is the schedule:
Friday, 10:00am Lima, Peru
Friday, 8:00am West Coast USA
Friday, 5:00pm Western Europe
Saturday, 2:00am Sydney, Australia

About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 106 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit