Chinese Taipei Joins the ISA as the 70th Country to be a Member

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Chinese Taipei: ISA’s newest member

The International Surfing Association (ISA), surfing’s world governing authority recognized by the International Olympic Committee, is proud to welcome Chinese Taipei to its list of member nations.

The Chinese Taipei Surfing Association (CTSA), led by President Ying-Che Huang, has been a leader in the growing popularity of the sport of surfing on the island of Taiwan. It is now the country’s National Governing Body (NGB) of surfing, as determined by the nation’s Ministry of the Interior.

“With the support and guidance of the ISA, our federation now has more confidence to develop the sport of surfing in Taiwan,” said CTSA Council Member, Randy Chang. “This will affect Taiwan’s surfing environment in many positive ways, such as upgrading the quality and number of our contests, improving judging and coaching performance and increasing surfing’s popularity in the country. We also want to generate more quality athletes to participate in world-class competitions.”

International Surfing Association (ISA) President, Fernando Aguerre said, “I am thrilled about the news, and happy to welcome Chinese Taipei to the international surfing family. We’re witnessing amazing surfing growth in Asia and we’re looking forward to introducing the sport to more countries in the region.”

Located 99 miles east of China, Chinese Taipei’s main island is 245 miles long and 89 miles wide. To the northeast are the principle islands of Japan and the East China Sea, and the southern end of the Ryukyu Islands of Japan are directly to the east.  The Batanes Islands of the Philippines lie to its south across the Bashi Channel.

Surfing is practiced mainly on the east side of the island and has perfect waves all along the coast. The monsoons bring solid swells from October to May, which is the best season. From June to September there are also good conditions from typhoon swells.

There are a variety of waves on the island, including beach breaks, rock bottoms and reef breaks.

For more information and pictures about surfing in Chinese Taipei, check these Surfline special features:




About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).