Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

All Individual Division Medalist Of The ISA World Bodyboard Championship To Be Crowned On Friday. ISA Aloha Cup and Team Champions Decided On Saturday

France’s Amaury Laverhne was in fourth place, and in the last minute came from behind and earned an 8.67 on a deep tube ride to take the first position and earn a spot in the Open Men’s Grand Final. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

France’s Anne Cecile Lacoste has been dominant on the Women’s side and has earned a spot in the Final. Photo: ISA/Gonzalo Muñoz

After an intense Day 5 of competition with great surf at the 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship in Iquique, Chile, the first set of Finalists have been confirmed.

On Friday, all the individual division Finals in Open Men, Open Women, Junior Boys, Junior Girls and Dropknee will take place, and the individual Gold, Silver, Bronze and Copper Medalists will be crowned.

Friday will be a crucial day in deciding the coveted World Team Champion. With all its athletes still in competition, Team Chile is leading the rankings in the overall team points. France is sitting within reach in second place, followed by South Africa in third and Portugal in fourth.

Saturday will mark the conclusion of this historic ISA World Boydboard Championship that will feature the exciting ISA Aloha Cup, tag-team relay competition. Each team is made up of five athletes and every bodyboarder is scored on two waves.

After the ISA Aloha Cup, the Closing Ceremony of the 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship will take place to award the Individual Medals and the World Team Champion Trophy. Directly after the Closing Ceremony, the ISA and the Municipality of Iquique will be hosting a Beach Clean Up at Punta Uno to keep our ocean and beaches clean.

Iquique showing off. Photo: ISA/Gonzalo Muñoz

“It has been an exciting ISA World Bodyboard Championship and a historic week for the country of Chile,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Friday will be a vital day for the competition as all the individual champions will be decided and ultimately determine the World Team Champion. Make sure to tune in to the live webcast to watch all the action unfold. I wish the best of luck to all of the competitors.”

It was an action packed day and the swell continued to push waves in the 4 to 7ft range. Main Event and Repechage rounds took place across all the divisions, but most notably is the first two of the four finalists have been confirmed in each division. The final rounds of Repechage will take place on Friday morning to complete the Grand Finals.

In Open Men’s, France’s Amaury Laverhne (15.60) and Tristan Roberts (14.90) from South Africa are now in the Final, defeating France’s Jeremy Arnoux (13.43) and Chile’s Gabriel Brantes (13.13).

South Africa’s Tristan Roberts has been on-fire all week competing in both the Men’s and Junior Divisions. The South African has earned a spot in the Men’s Final and is fighting for a spot in the Junior division through the Repechage. Photo:ISA/Rommel Gonzales

In Open Women’s, Venezuela’s Yuleiner Gonzalez (11.23) and France’s Anne Cecile Lacoste (9.50) advanced to the Final, defeating Brazil’s Neymara Carvalho (8.83) and Portugal’s Teresa Almeida (7.50).

Venezuela’s Yuleiner Gonzalez. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

In Junior Boys U-18, Brazil’s Socrates Santana (12.73) and Portugal’s Miguel Adao advanced to the Final, defeating France’s Alexandre Castillo (10.66) and Chile’s Yoshua Toledo (8.27).

Portugal’s Miguel Adao. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

In Junior Girls U-18, Peru’s Carolina Botteri (11.54) and Chile’s Anais Veliz (10.00) advanced to the Final, defeating Portugal’s Madalena Guerra (9.03) and Venezuela’s Yanelly Alvarez (7.67).

Peru’s Carolina Botteri. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

In Dropknee, Peru’s Cesar Bauer (14.84) and Venezuela’s Angelo Freda (10.03), advanced to the Final, defeating Chile’s Michel Copetta (8.43) and France’s Amaury Lavernhe (8.04).

Peru’s Cesar Bauer. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The athletes who placed third and fourth in these heats have one more opportunity to reach the Final through the Repechage Rounds.

For a full list of today’s results, click here:

The 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship resumes Friday at 7:40am (local time) in Iquique, Chile, with The Morning Show hosted by Philip Muller and Begoña Martinez featuring Team Chile.

Competition will feature:

The live webcast of the entire 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship is available on

About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 104 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit