Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Competition Forced into a Holding Pattern Throughout the Day at the 2013 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship

Miraflores, Lima, Peru, February 27, 2013- Day 3 of competition at the 2013 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship saw a high level of SUP Surfing with an increasing swell throughout the day, but the competitors were greeted with a dense fog with nearly zero visibility.

The long periods of intermittent fog at La Pampilla Beach, in the upscale coastal city of Miraflores, caused the competition into a holding pattern throughout the day. Despite the increased surf in the 6ft range, it was impossible to see the SUP Surfers out in the line-up leaving event officials no choice but to call the event on hold when the fog was the most dense.

Colin McPhillips (USA) put on an amazing display of SUP Surfing, scoring the second highest total heat score of the event with 15.00 points. Photo: ISA/Tweddle

“Apart from the challenging conditions due to the fog, when visibility was good, the SUP Surfing was excellent,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Today, with the swell on the rise with head-high to overhead surf by the afternoon, the Men and Women’s SUP Surfers displayed amazing high performance in their surfing. With the swell expected to peak on Thursday, it will be a very interesting and exciting day of SUP Surfing and Racing.”

The day started with Men’s Repechage 1 that featured all of the SUP Surfers who earned 3rd and 4th place in the first day of competition, allowing them a second chance through the double elimination contest format.

Soon after the first heat began, the fog started to come through, resulting in the first of many delays. As a result, heats ran only when visibility was good enough for the Judges to see the complete action in the lineup. The German SUP Surfer, Moritz Mauch, was the standout during this round earning an 11.74 beating Ireland’s Paul Byrne and Adam Finer (CAN).

Spain’s Iballa Ruano dominated her heat earning a total heat score of 13.44, the highest heat score in Day 3 of the Women’s SUP Surfing. Photo: ISA/Gonzalez

Following the Men’s heats and another long fog delay, the Women’s Repechage 1 and Qualify 2 were completed. The standout was Spain’s Ibella Ruano, who earned the highest total heat score (13.44) in the Women’s SUP Surfing thus far, while defeating Peru’s Brissa Malaga (10.57). In the other heat of the Women’s Repechage 1 was the Brazilian Nicole Pacelli, who won her heat earning a 11.83 and will be joining Ruano and Malaga in the Semifinal along with Shakira Westdorp (AUS), who got second place in this heat earning a 11.77.

Following the Women’s SUP Surfing was the Men’s Repechage 2, that saw a dominating performance put on by USA’s Colin McPhillips. The California native, who has won numerous ASP World Longboard titles put on a display of smooth and powerful turns, and even a stylish nose-ride, and earned the highest total heat score of the day and second highest total heat score of the event of 15.00.  McPhillips defeated Moritz Mauch (GER, 7.87), Masamichi Matsunaga (JPN, 7.1), and Greg Carson (PUR, 4.23).

Thursday will be an exciting day of competition with a peaking swell in the 6-8ft range. Day 4 will begin with SUP Surfing followed by the Men and Women’s SUP Technical Races.

The World Championship will begin at 7:40am with the daily Morning Show featuring host Beau Hodges and guests Iballa Ruano and Belar Diaz from Spain plus Johnny O’Hara and Katie McAnena from Ireland followed by a full day of incredible action.

Watch all the action live webcast on on the following schedule:

Thursday, 7:40am Peru
Thursday, 4:40am West Coast USA
Thursday, 1:40pm Western Europe
Thursday, 11:40pm Sydney, Australia
Calculate the time for all other areas

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).