Brazil’s Caio Ibelli wins the ISA’s second annual Hainan Classic 4-star men’s ASP in China

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Australia’s Mitch Crews placed second at the left point break at Riyue Bay 

Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival
January 25 to 30, 2013
Wanning, Hainan, China

Wanning, Hainan, China, January 30, 2013- The International Surfing Association (ISA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 Hainan Classic, 4-Star Men’s ASP: Brazilian Caio Ibelli placed 1st defeating Australian Mitch Crews in the Final.

Caio Ibelli (BRA), dominated during the entire Hainan Classic to win $15,000 US. Photo: ISA/Gonzales

Despite smaller conditions on the last day of the competition, Ibelli was able to choose the right waves that gave him the win.  The young and super talented Brazilian earned an 8.33 on his opening ride in the final, and nearing the end of the heat, he tore apart a long left and scored a 9.17 for a heat total of 17.50. The 2011 ASP Billabong World Junior titlist easily defeated Crews’ 11.00 total for the Hainan Classic trophy and top cash prize.

“This has been an amazing event filled with lots of surprises. Congratulations to Caio Ibelli for his incredible performance in the long winding waves at the left point in Riyue Bay,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre from his home in La Jolla, California, where he was attending to the needs of a new baby girl born into his family the day before.

Ibelli was the most consistent and in-form surfer of the event since he earned the top 4 highest heat scores: 17.67 in the Quarterfinals, 17.67 in Round 3, 17.50 in the final, and 17.50 in Round 1.

Mitch Crews (AUS) had a good run during the contest in China, but came up short, finishing in 2nd place. Photo: ISA/Tweddle

“This contest has been pretty good; the waves were amazing and I had so much fun surfing the heats. There’s no better way to start the year than by winning,” said the Hainan Classic champ. “This is my first event of the year and I feel awesome.”

Second place finisher Crews struggled to find quality waves during the Final. “I started catching the first wave and it just ran off a bit quick. Caio got the one behind it, and it stood up real nice on the reef allowing him to get a few turns,” remarked Mitch Crews. “After that there were basically no waves for 10 minutes, and I held priority for as long as I could. It was hard to chose them and the conditions were deteriorating, but I’m happy with my performance and on to the next contest.”

The ISA President appreciates all the effort that went into putting on this successful event. “In the name of the ISA and the over 35 million surfers in the world, I would like to thank China’s National Water Sports Association, the Hainan Culture and Sports Department, the Wanning Sports Bureau, and especially our great partners, Womei Media. With all of their support, I am looking forward to coming back to Hainan, for the third time next year, for what will be a bigger and even better event.”

For a full list of today’s results, click here-

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).