Brazil, Ecuador and Peru Win the Surfing Gold Medals in the South American Beach Games

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The 2011 ISA World Junior Champion, Peruvian Cristobal de Col, is the new South American Beach Games Surfing Champion in the Open Men division. Photo: ISA/Rommel

Cristobal de Col (PER) in the Open Men, Dominic Barona (ECU) in the Open Women, Jefson Silva (BRA) in Longboard, Jorge Maldonado (ECU) in Bodyboard and Brazil in the Tag Team are the new South American Beach Games Surfing Champions

2nd South American Beach Games
Manta, Ecuador
November 6, 2011

The Surfing contest in the South American Beach Games came to an end today in the perfect waves of San Mateo, in Manta, Ecuador. Surfers from Peru, Brazil and Ecuador won gold medals in each of the event’s five divisions.

More than 100 surfers and team officials from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela and host, Ecuador, competed in the Open Men, Open Women, Longboard, Bodyboard and Tag Team divisions.

The surfing event lasted 5 days with consistent San Mateo waves breaking in the two-to-five-foot range.

The finals were held today in sunny conditions and sets reaching the four-foot mark. The 2011 ISA World Junior Champion, Peruvian Cristobal de Col, was the winner of the Open Men division, leaving his fellow team-mate Miguel Tudela, 2011 ISA Junior Copper medalist, in second and 2011 ISA Open Men World Champion, Santiago Muñiz from Argentina, in third.

Local Dominic Barona dominated the Open Women division, showing impressive skills to give a historic first Gold to her country. Argentinean Ornella Pellizzari won the Silver and Brazilian Suelen Naraisa won the Bronze.

Locals Jorge Maldonado and Johnny Alcivar also made history for their country as they won Gold and Silver respectively in the Bodyboard division. Bronze went to Brazil’s Francirley Ferreira.

Brazil’s presence was especially strong in the Longboard discipline with Jefson Silva and Carlos Bahía winning Gold and Silver. Argentinean Martín Pérez took the Bronze.

Once again, Brazil prevailed in the Tag Team (patterned after the ISA Aloha Cup), leaving Argentina in second and Peru in third.

In the previous edition of the Games (Uruguay 2009), out of four categories, three went to Brazil and one to Peru. Out of this year’s five divisions, Ecuador and Brazil each won two, making them the highlight of this tournament. The other Gold medal went to Peru.

“It was amazing to have the continent’s best surfers in Ecuador for the South American Beach Games,” said Ecuadorian Surfing Federation President, Manolo Lozano. “This is also really important, since we are committed to give everything we can to help surfing become an Olympic Sport. Working in Olympic-related multi-sports events is a significant drop in the bucket to achieve this goal.”

ISA President Fernando Aguerre commented, “It’s wonderful to see another ODESUR South American Beach Games taking place with surfing as one of its key sports. We look forward to participating in more Olympic Movement multi-sport events, as we believe surfing brings a unique sport and passionate sport fans to the Olympic Family events.”

The location of the 2013 South American Beach Games has not being released yet. The ISA will announce this information once disclosed.

Final results
Open Men
Gold: Cristobal de Col (PER)
Silver: Migue Tudela (PER)
Bronze: Santiago Muñiz (ARG)

Open Women
Gold: Dominic Barona (ECU)
Silver: Ornella Pellizzari (ARG)
Bronze: Suelen Naraisa (BRA)

Gold: Jefson Silva (BRA)
Silver: Carlos Bahía (BRA)
Bronze: Martín Pérez (ARG)

Gold: Jorge Maldonado (ECU)
Silver: Johnny Alcivar (ECU)
Bronze: Francirley Ferreira (BRA)

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).