Billabong ISA World Surfing Games Special Show to Be Broadcasted on Fuel TV This Saturday

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.


Pablo Zanocchi
Media Manager
International Surfing Association

La Jolla, California
January 21, 2011

This Saturday at 9:00 p.m. (PST), Fuel TV will air a special program about the Billabong ISA World Surfing Games that were held at the perfect waves of Caballeros and Señoritas in Punta Hermosa, Peru from October 19 until the 27.

The program will provide a unique insider’s view of the elite surfers’ life.

In addition to covering one of surfing’s most prestigious events, the show follows the paths leading up to the event of three successful surfers from three different regions of the world. Peruvian Gabriel Villarán, Aussie Chelsea Hedges and British Ben Skinner were filmed first at home during the days of preparation. Later, we will see the three athletes going through the intense days of competition, the battle for the gold and the honor of representing each of their countries.

The 2010 Billabong ISA World Surfing Games had Peru as the winner in the Overall Team Standings, Gabriel Villarán won the silver medal in the Open Men, and Chelsea Hedges won the gold in the Open Women division. Meanwhile, former medalist, Ben Skinner lost on the early rounds and placed 21st.

Check everything these athletes went through in Peru as well as the action of over 200 surfers from 31 countries this Saturday at 9:00 pm on Fuel TV.

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA will hold the first Stand Up Paddle (SUP) World Championship and the first World Bodyboard Championship in 2011.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 65 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since.  The ISA’s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karín Sierralta (Peru)

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).