Best Kneeboarders of the World Get Ready for Phillip Island

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Gavin Coleman (AUS) will be defending his title at Phillip Island waves this year. Photo: Surf2surf.co.nz


Media Contact:
Pablo Zanocchi
Media Manager
International Surfing Association

ISA 2011 World Kneeboard Titles
Phillip Island, Australia
March 19 to 26

From March 19 to 26 Australia will see a huge contingent of kneeboard surfers converging at Phillip Island for the ISA 2011 World Kneeboard Titles. This is the first time that Phillip Island hosts this event. The Island has a long history of kneeboard surfing. The highly regarded “Phillip Island Kneeboard Classic” has been running for almost 30 years and still attracts the best kneelo’s from Australia.

A number of previous World Champions will be competing along with current two-time World Champion Gavin Colman from Australia and other top international surfers. Competitors from the United States, New Zealand, Tahiti, England, Japan, Spain, Venezuela and South Africa will perform against a strong Australian contingent.

The organizers have been working with Surfing Victoria, planning for a big crowd of visitors. Phillip Island is one of Victoria’s favorite holiday destinations, and has some of the State’s best surfing beaches, ranging from sandy beach breaks to rocky reefs, all within a short drive.

Visit the ISA World Kneeboard Surfing Championship webpage for information www.2011kneeboardsurfingworldtitles.com.

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the Tandem Surfing World Title, and will hold the first Stand Up Paddle (SUP) World Championship and the first World Bodyboard Championship in 2011.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 65 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since.  The ISA’s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karín Sierralta (Peru).

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).