Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

All finalists for the Men’s and Women’s SUP Surfing, Women’s SUP Technical Race, and Team Relays have been decided for the final day of competition at the ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship

In an action packed day, Australia’s Jordan Mercer and Lincoln Dews were crowned today as the Women’s and Men’s Paddleboard Technical Race Champions, during the 5th Day of the 2013 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship.

In another beautiful day with perfect weather and wave conditions at Miraflores’ La Pampilla Beach, in Lima, all finalists have been decided for the Men’s and Women’s SUP Surfing, Women’s SUP Technical Race, and Team Relays.

Men’s and Women’s Technical Race Gold Medalists, Australia’s Lincoln Dews (left) and Jordan Mercer (right). Photo: ISA/Romero

“Congratulations to today’s medalists,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “The SUP Surfers and Racers, and Paddleboarders put on a great show in the amazing conditions at La Pampilla. Tomorrow will be a very exciting day where the rest of the Surfing and Racing divisions will have champions and culminate with the crowning of the Team Champion and winner of the Club Waikiki-Peru Team Trophy. Good luck to all of the competitors in the Finals. I will be watching the event live in our webcast.”

The day started with the last heats of SUP Surfing, in both Men’s and Women’s Qualifying and Repechage rounds. The big upset of the day was the elimination of the 3-time ASP Longboard World Champion Colin McPhillips (USA, 10.04) during heat 1 of Men’s Repechage 6, who was eliminated by the local Peru National Team member, Tamil Martino (14.53) and Justin Holland (AUS, 12.04), who advanced to the final. Martino applied all of his local knowledge of the waves at La Pampilla, managing to get two good waves that gave him advantage over his contenders.

The standout in the SUP Surfing heats was Sean Poynter (USA), who surfed in Qualify Round 5 and obtained the highest single wave score of the day, 9.17, and the highest total points, 16.27, while defeating 2012’s Gold Medalist Antoine Delpero (FRA, 12.6), Jose Gomez (PER, 9.97), and Beau Nixon (AUS, 9.33).

Spain’s Iballa Ruano, also put on a great performance during the Qualify Round 3 earning 15.44, defeating Nicole Pacelli (BRA, 11.83), Shakira Westdrop (AUS, 9.0) and the local star Brissa Malaga (PER, 6.4).

After the SUP Surfing Heats, the Women’s Technical SUP Racing Semifinal took place, which was led by Australia’s Angela Jackson with a time of 31 minutes, 08 seconds, followed by Olivia Piana (FRA) in second with a time of 31:44, Barbara Brasil (BRA) in third with a time of 33:37, and Shannon Bell (CAN) in fourth with a time of 34:31.

Then, it was the turn of the Women’s Technical Paddleboard racers, where Jordan Mercer (AUS) with a time of 31:55 defended her 2012 Gold Medal. In a great fashion, the young Mercer was able to overcome difficult sea conditions to defeat the other nine competitors from around the world and clinch her second Gold Medal in a row, having won the Long Distance Race Gold earlier in the week.

In second place arrived Anna Notten from South Africa with a time of 32:09; in third place was Rocio Larrañaga (PER) with a time of 35:40, and in fourth place was Shannon Bell (CAN) with a time of 35:54, a tremendous feat as Bell was in her second race of the day.

In the Men’s Technical Paddleboard Race, the Aussies dominated by taking first and second place. Lincoln Dews arrived in first place with a time of 25.33 minutes, followed by his teammate Brad Gaul (AUS) with a time of 26.11 minutes, earning the Gold and Silver Medals respectively and valuable points for Team Australia.

USA’s Sean Poynter was the Men’s SUP Surfing standout of the day, earning the day’s highest single wave score of 9.17 and a total heat score of 16.27. Photo: ISA/Gonzales

Ryan Butcher (RSA) got the Bronze Medal with his third place and a time of 26:54, and Luiz Escudero (PER) got the Copper Medal after arriving to the finish line in fourth with a time of 26:56.

Tomorrow the Grand Finals will be held with the Women up first at 8am followed by the Men at 8:25am.  All the World Champions will be crowned during the Awards Ceremony immediately after the Team Relay Race Final.

The Men’s SUP Surfing Final will feature Sean Poynter (USA), Antoine Delpero (FRA), Beau Nixon (AUS) and Tamil Marino (PER).

The Women’s SUP Surfing Final will feature Iballa Ruana (SPA), Nicole Pacelli (BRA), Shakira Westdorp (AUS), and Caroline Angibaud (FRA)

Tune in at 7:40am with the daily morning show featuring the Peruvian National SUP and Paddleboard Team. Watch all the action on

Friday, 7:40am Peru
Friday, 4:40am West Coast USA
Friday, 1:40pm Western Europe
Friday, 11:40pm Sydney, Australia
Calculate the time for all other areas

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).